Doing What You’re Too Good For, Makes You Better

Give Him A Hand

There are many tasks i used to think were beneath me. Things that needed doing that i was too good for.

Here’s what i learned. The more jobs i do that i feel are beneath me, the higher i raise myself up. The more tasks i accomplish that i am too good for, the better person i become.
Allow me to pass along some wisdom given me by my sponsor.One thing my sponsor told me when he was giving me the answers to all my problems was that a lot of my drinking was fear based. Much of that fear is the fear of rejection. i drank so i could overcome this fear.

The Cure to Fear of Rejection is Esteemable Acts.

An Esteemable Act is a Good Deed and they are cushions for the soul.

The more esteemable acts i do, the better i feel about myself. The better i feel about myself, the less a rejection will sting. Thus, the more Good Deeds i do, the less i will suffer from rejection.

Good deeds make you strong. Be Strong!

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have never heard this before and I love it. I can see how this would really work. I like the pay it forward way of thinking BUT I never thought of how it might impact my character defects and how I view my world. I am going to think of adding this to 90 meetings in 90 days: dovetail it with 90 good deeds in 90 days. What an amazing sponsor you have! Thank you for sharing the Wisdom!

  2. All i can say is: True. You have helped me so much by stopping by the site … “showing up” — It matters so much. Your support of me, for example, has made me one of your “servants” so to speak. Don’t get carried away … 😉

    I never really associated “good works” that tempering fear of rejection. Excellent insight! Build up your supports … you’re really building a strong foundation for your new and exciting path!!! Cool!

    Keep on going friend … (erm … late late late as usual) …

    mel

    • Hi Melis!

      It helps that i love your site. Your helps me put in perspective some of my issues as well and i’m far from perfect but i’m getting better every day. Suit up and Show up, as we say in AA. It works if you work it…

      And thank you for your support of my and my stuff. i’m just a humble servant sharing things i think of and it’s nice to know some of those things are appreciated by others!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. HOLY crap, btw … that picture. I can feel liquid spurting out of my ears. Can’t say i live close enough to that much sand to have “been THERE, done that”. Thank goodness.

    Keep rolling Al …

  1. Pingback: Egomaniac With An Inferiority Complex « Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

please leave a comment!

