Practice Makes Almost Perfect

Back to the Drinking Board

Tonight in the Rooms, one of the crazies shared. He babbled on about things that were pretty disjointed and i was having a hard time following because, you know me, i have a hard enough time as it is understanding people who make sense. Then, at the end of the share, he was talking about a musician friend of his in AA who went to meetings every day.

“Why do you go to a meeting every day?” my guy asked him.

Because it’s like playing guitar—when I practice guitar every day, I get better.

That was my AA lesson todAAy, and an explanation of why i’m hitting 2-3 AA meetings a week as well as waking up at 5am every morning (weekends included) to work another 12-Step program with a sponsor in the States because they don’t have all the Anonymouses in Yeaman.

When i work it every day, i get better.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. You are working it Al. Way to go. Your sponsor must be awesome, btw.

    Practicing sobriety is the best defense against holiday consumption practices. Back in the day, when i first got sober i stopped going home for awhile. I couldn’t be around people swilling all day. My parents live in a small town, and i couldn’t find a meeting i could get to.
    I remember that year as the frozen fingertip year. I was outdoors almost all day except for meals and toilet! Saved my arse … but i never put myself in the position to slip again.

    I appreciate you stopping by especially when i’ve been MIA only because WordPress has it out for me HAHAHA … have another dose of paranoia, right?

    OK … babbling … meils

  2. Melis!

    i think i’m lucky because i got into recovery later in life, after 28 years of “using”. i feel so much better now than i did in the past that, while i have some phantom memories of missing alcohol (like the phantom pain an amputee experiences), i can’t imagine ever being seriously tempted to start up again.

    Wait, this gives me a good idea for a blog post! Thanks for the inspiration, Mel!

    Keep coming back,

    Al K Hall

  3. i’m sort of worried about Don’s daughter — the one with the EGG issue ;-).

    She has a sort of girlfiend/roommate (we’re not sure what she is … or who she is, or where she came from — all over it seems) … well, the two of them drink continually starting at about 5:00. Don is mostly upset because this girl (who is Liz’s friend/possible roommate, or girlfriend) doesn’t ASK when she “keeps coming back” to the fridge to drink his beers. Not to mention the food … but she is also vegetarian so Don and i don’t worry too much about food stuff.

    I don’t know … it’s must my RADAR … i guess. She’s 23 so maybe i shouldn’t judge too harshly. It’s just that i’ve had such a different experience. Jen and i used to go out and party our asses off in college. Then “quit it”. Realized we weren’t fun any more … and we were getting sick.

    Blah blah. It’s a hard situation to be in … Don doesn’t think it’s too bad … but he doesn’t like the mooching. Different strokes.

    Can’t WAIT for your next post!!!!! WOOHOOO!!! Keep writing.

    melis

    • i think i’d agree with Don. At 23, kids are still figuring shit out, but i remember when i was drinking and; holy shit, someone bumming my beers really set me off. Your man’s a bettter man than i!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • OK no more talk of consumption. Sorry … I hope that didn’t push your buttons. It’s all around NOT a good idea to bring up stories about “the bad/wrong path”.

        Still, mooching, NO! Don’t like it.

        melis

  4. ???
    Not sure what you mean about pressing buttons? i was just trying to say that when i was still drinking, i didn’t like people taking my beers. Even now, i still get edgy if people take sips out of my soft drinks.

    Keep coming back, Melis!

    Al K Hall

  5. Oh sorry, honey, … just get worried if i talk about booze in specifics. Know what i mean? That’s all. Sorry … I just don’t want you to start thinking … hey, maybe i’ll take a few sips. i don’t want that!!! I still hate going to parties and watching people get trashed.

    I don’t know where you stand with being around people who still drink, etc.? Know what i mean? Sobriety at certain times is so fragile.

    Sounds like we’re about the same age — i’m 51, so maybe at this age you just deal with what other people do, and if they bug you … you leave them alone. OK i’m digging a hole.

    BUT, to be sure … i don’t like people drinking any of my drinks. I offer to Don or his kid, they take me up on it … and i ALWAYS think, there goes half my beverage. Little stuff.

    Just wanting sobriety for all my friends, AKA, you, Al! Hope we’re OK? Well-meaning, but still in shock, mel. Missing the pooch … sleepy and dopey these days … but “showing up”. That’s part of the deal, right? 😉

    • Hi Babe!

      No worries. i’m as secure as i can be in my sobriety, which means i don’t feel any desire to drink but am still en guarde against becoming over-confident. With my drinking blog, people drinking around me at work and my social interactions i come into contact with booze regularly every day and still have no problem remembering that my life is 10 times better now than it ever was in the last 28 years. So, son’t worry about booze talking!

      We’ve always been good, Melis! Nothing to worry about. Hang in there, suit up and show up, and i hope you feel better about the pooch soon!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • Much love, my good friend!! It’s funny how you can connect in such a deep way over this, like, treachery, right? I mean alcohol is such a bitch-babe-boy-mutt!

        What i do know is that suffering with an addiction can bite you BADLY whichever way you indulge it.

        Just can’t bear to think of that happening to any of my friends, my friend … Al 🙂

        Thanks …

        melis

please leave a comment!

