Don’t Be A Coaster

Don't Sleep On It

What is a coaster? A coaster is a cheap piece of future trash meant to temporarily soak up liquid dregs.

It is also someone who coasts.

My recovery has been going so well lately, that i’ve been letting things slide (gratitude lists, morning prayers, phone calls to members, meetings, this blog…). i haven’t stopped them completely, but i’ve downshifted. Taken my foot off the gas and started coasting.

What happens when you become a coaster? You become a cheap piece of future trash that will soon soak up alcoholic dregs.

Stay Aware!

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hi. I’ve read through both blog sites. I like patronizing this one better. Your recovery is amazing. Keep moving forward.

    • Working On It!

      i really appreciate your coming by and taking the time to leave a message!

      i’m also impressed you tried out both of my blogs. How Brave! The Bar None can get a little sticky, indeed.

      It’s a necessary evil, though, as it lets me get the extraneous junk out of my system before i sit down to do the real work of this blog. And; like i’ve said before, The Bar None averaged 3,500 visitors PER DAY in Dec 2011 and this blog…12 per day. Which is not to say the other is better, but it’s nice to feel appreciated as well. Stil, there are several people like yourself that prefer this one to the other, my wife for example, so it’s nice you have the choice!

      Keep coming back and thanks for the visit,

      Al K Hall

  2. Nope. You aren’t a coaster, you won’t be a coaster. The balance of service and gratitude and HUMAN energy is delicate. You are not a coaster, You won’t ever be a coaster. You’ll sort it out between Program and life. Pay attention to that nasty little voice in your head that says, “erm, maybe i can skip this or that” … that’s a coaster. Don’t slide on that shit, friend. mel

    • Hi Mel!

      i am not a true coaster, but i have the coaster in me. i have to stay on guard to make sure i stay on track! Hitting a meeting tonight, for example!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. Who doesn’t have a coaster in them? I sure as hell do. Just because it is in there, doesn’t mean it rules the roost. I love the Bar None. I REALLY love this place. Hits, smits.

    This blog is inspiring. Reach out and find others in recovery and this place will be the virtual meeting 24/7 on line.

    the bar none is a hoot. This place, this place has heart. YOU have heart.

    yes. get thee to a meeting and another and another and….

    peace al, J

    • Jen!

      Hits, smits.

      Lol! i should probably be less concerned than i am about readership, but there you go. And i love the concept of a virtual online meeting 24/7! How cool would that be?

      You keep up your good work, too, and…

      …Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  4. The encouraging thing about this post is that you recognize you have been slacking a little. The beginning of a new year, and an upcoming anniversary are good reasons to get back on track.

    Happy New Year and congrats on the great work !!!!!!

    • Moderation!

      Nice to see you here, brother. Recognize it indeed and part of my recovery is consciously recognizing my defaults / slips and working to retrain the brain to self-correct. Recognition is one more milestone on the road to recovery.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  5. It’s a great metaphor/image! The coaster one, not that guy up there so much: yeesh, lol.

    I like what Jen said up there: “This place, this place has heart. YOU have heart.” Yup. Indeed. As for the Bar None — I just have huge triggers when it comes to that place! I know that it is not a horrible place, and that many, many people can find the funny (and the girly pics) at that site. If I had never lived with you, never lived through the alcoholism in its active state and experienced the hurts from that situation, you can bet I would be laughing my ass off at the Bar None, too!! 😀 After all, I used to really find the funny in similar writing you did before you ever even opened up that blog. I love “that guy,” too — he was one of the first I fell in love with because of the funny there.

    It’s just been hard for me to find the funny there in the past 18 months or so, although I am able to visit there more and more as your recovery becomes stronger and stronger. We all need our crutches when giving stuff up. For me, it is sugar when giving up cigarettes and cigarettes when giving up sugar, lol. Will I ever be able to give up both at the same time? I don’t know, but I really need to find out… I hope so. I think that the Bar None is perhaps your sugar (or coffee or potato chips) in trying to give up alcohol. Anyway, like the others and you have written, the real work goes on *here*, and I think it is terrific, along with everyone else. You are being *real* here, even if writing under a pseudonym, lol. It’s got heart, and the heart is real.

    • Hi Angel!

      i’m glad you enjoyed the post and the metaphor. You know me, always sticking my diction places it shouldn’t be.

      As for the debate about which blog is “better”, i think we can all agree that both are more or less necessary to my recovery!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  6. “You know me, always sticking my diction places it shouldn’t be.”

    Hee hee hee hee hee!! Yes, it is stuff just like that why I love you. Well, one of the many reasons anyway. I love how you can turn a pun. 🙂

    “As for the debate about which blog is “better”, i think we can all agree that both are more or less necessary to my recovery!”

    Does this mean I can keep smoking?!? 😀 j/k, kinda. I have felt better the past three weeks since I quit (again). I know it is so much better for me. I type this as I am craving chocolate, having already gobbled up all that I had from the holidays!! *sigh* Recovery — from alcohol, smoking, overeating, eating the wrong things….whatever. it is full of challenges, that’s for sure.

    Thanks for the pun. 🙂

    xx
    The Missus

please leave a comment!

