Chip In

Today i went to the meeting where i picked up my one-year chip. Here’s what i said after getting it.

i don’t deserve any credit for this. This chip is thanks to my Higher Power, my sponsor, the rooms, the program and you guys. So congratulations on my success.

Of course it didn’t come out like that. i was all choked up and trying to get through it before my voice broke, but that was the spirit of what i had to say

Thanks to you guys as well. Your support is a basic building block in the foundation of my recovery. Congratulations to you all as well. You do great work.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on January 15, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! I just picked up my 90 day chip this morning. I look forward to coming back and reading more of your blog.

  2. Al,

    This photo beats EVERY other photo EVER posted here or at the Bar None; and those rock.

    Congratulations. Really Really!

    XO Jen

  3. Yes… it’s almost mind-blowing when I think of all the people that are involved in my recovery. I could never had made it if it were’nt for all those good-hearted, loving, accepting and enduring people. Yet of course it boils down to my own will and to accept all those hands being reached out when I’ve cry out for help.

    You were willing and here you are, bless your heart Al K and many Congratulations!

  4. HOO WAH!!

    I am so proud of you. I honestly could not have imagined a little over one year ago that you would have been sober for an entire year, and yet here we are. I thank all of those you thanked as well. I’m glad that you have found a network of support. Here’s a tea toast (I’ve got some licorice mint I’m drinking. Get it? Tea for the tee-teetotaler) for you. Tchin, tchin.

    I’m also glad I got to participate in the meeting. It meant a lot for me to be there, so thanks for letting me tag along.

    Love,
    The Missus

    • Hi Angel!

      Your love and support have helped immensely in my recovery as well! Thanks for standing beside me through thick and thicker.

      A Tea-toast to you as well, my dear!

      Keep Coming Back,

      Al K Hall

  5. Wow, a year sure goes by fast. Congratulations, happy for you and proud of you !!!!!

please leave a comment!

