Be Prepared To Lose It

The theme of my Tuesday Night Meeting is “Adventures In Sobriety”. At first, i assumed there was a specific definition to this and wondered what that was. Now i understand the signification changes not only according to the individual, but my own interpretation of it varies as well. i like it like that. It reminds me of life.

One Adventure sobriety has brought me is a plethora of opportunities that wine goggles prevented from seeing. Another Adventure i now have (perhaps unfortunately) is the energy to act on them.

“Unfortunately” because what with my fiction writing, freelance journalism, full time job and family…i want to do Everything now that i feel that i can.

The problem is, it’s easy to put any of these adventures in front of Recovery because Recovery brought them to me.

At times like these in my life, it’s critical to remember the Alcoholics Anonymous saying,

If you put something before your sobriety, be prepared to lose it.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Preach it brother! You got that right! Stay cool: You’ve got lots of time. I SO get what you’re saying. You are so lucky to be incredibly talented and funny (and have a great family).

    First off, all this “stuff” wouldn’t “be” if it weren’t for sobri-e-ty … OH i’m so funny.

    I love that saying.

    So, you’re adventures can be slow and ever-changing … and your life can be full of love and courage and all that good stuff! The stuff we all desperately want.

    Seriously, though. This morning they announced Academy nominees, and i thought, “shit, who cares”. Everyone all boxtoxed up and hair curling, toupee wearing. Jeesh!

    I’d rather have a soul. ….Ok not to say these folks don’t have soul. I know a few singers that … well you know. Great job, Al! xox m

  2. Oh oh oh oh oh!! The POOR monkey up there! Oh oh!! It never *occured* to me that monkeys might puke, but OMG, I guess they *could*, couldn’t they! Oh that it just a horrific thought. Monkey Flu. *shudders* It would be like having an 18-month-old with it all coming out both ends! Eeeeeeep!

    I’m NEVER getting a monkey. Just sayin’.

    ““Unfortunately” because what with my fiction writing, freelance journalism, full time job and family…i want to do Everything now that i feel that i can.”

    The problem is, it’s easy to put any of these adventures in front of Recovery because Recovery brought them to me.”

    I can see that this is a bit of a conundrum and something that would need constant vigilance.

    I can see how taking away the alcohol is like suddenly taking away a crapload of NOISE. Static. The kind of noise that is like three radio stations being played all at the same time at top volume.

    Take away all that interfering sound via sobriety, and suddenly a body can hear all kinds of wonderful noises to which the alcohol had deafened him or her. Like birds singing, and maybe an acoustic guitar playing, and gee!! Here’s another great sound over here! And here! And over there!

    All the great sounds that were drowned out by the drinking are now present. It’s probably pretty easy to get just as entranced by those noises, distracted by them, and enchanted by them. Listening to all the wonderful things could cause the kind of amnesia that would make one forget the switch that turned the static off in the first place. Kind of like the Sirens, eh?

    Best as you try to keep focused on the one thing that will allow you to continue living an adventure. It’s a tightrope act I’m sure will keep you busy for the rest of your life, but should make for a dynamic journey. I really like that AA saying. I can see how it is very, very true.

    • Excellent read Mrs. D. You’ve got the education first hand on the tight-rope. It’s just one day. I always think: One Day is all we have … although it’s hard when you regain your health, and have new strength.

      I never liked to be “scared” into staying straight (bulimia-free) … that has the opposing effect.

      Still, keeping the eye on the bottom line, one day at a time is a slow and easy reminder to keep the horse in front of the cart.

      Lord I think my mom wrote this … any more cliches? Best wishes!!! xoxo xmelis

  3. Yeah, and once again … the pics. That’s a drunk man in a monkey suit! !!!!

  4. A very wise advice, one that is most important for me too to remember! I never ever wish to loose sobriety again, and I should read this every morning before I get out of bed and head out in the real world… “if you put something before your sobriety, be prepared to lose it.”

    Thanks for sharing Al K!

  5. Al!

    For your excellent “education on a tight rope” (well played you guys!) I am asking you to take part in the:

    Blog for Mental Health 2012 campaign..

    See

    http://steponacrack.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/blog-for-mental-health-2012/

    for details.

    Keep on Keepin on…

    Jen

  6. OK, phew … you may be nominated for the ABC Award by Jen, (Hi partner) but i’m also nominating you and Mrs. D for this fabulous honor … Please see https://iamnotshe.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/simple-as-a-b-c/ on how to do the ABC Award deal. More things to do!!! Go easy … 🙂 mel

    • Hi Mel!

      i’m flattered you nominated me! i’ll let Miss D know yo thought about her as well. i hope to have time soon to get around to “picking up” all these laurels, but i just got a new computer and there’s been a lot of work i wasn’t able to get done i now have the tools to catch up on, but not the time!

      i’ll do my best, and i sincerely am grateful you thought of me!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • I know it’s a lot of work with a new computer … and the blog things, well … they can take time too. Seems like your life is going so well, it’s hard to find time to do all the stuff you want to do. Just keep keeping on … mel

  7. OK, here we go … i’m sure me and Jen are happy to nominate you for the 7 X 7 award! You and Mrs. D if she would like to join in the passing of the Links.

    http://iamnotshe.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/the-7-x-7-link-award-thanks-to-jen/

please leave a comment!

