Alcohol-Free

Got this comment from our brother In The Same Boat and i thought it would be better served here on the Front Page rather than buried at the bottom of a post somewhere…

I've Got Alcohol On My Mind!

Today I hit a new milestone. As I was walking back from the cafe, where I spent the evening reading after a long work day, it occurred to me that I had not once thought about alcohol since getting up this morning. No regrets of my past drinking. No weird cravings. No gratitude that I quit drinking. Just a busy fulfilled day. I don’t think that has happened in a long time.

Of course, thinking that thought blew the streak but it is only an hour before midnight. I’m wondering if I will see the time when having thoughts about alcohol is unusual, and I can just go about my life. And if so does that put me in danger of a relapse?

Go Boat!

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Alcoholism, Guest Post, Lessons in Recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. jumpingpolarbear

    Wouldn’t mind a glass of that right about now.

  2. Shit, for real! Yes! Those are the moments you cherish, then you think, WAIT am i being whispered to by the demons, right? I’m normal … i can a have one or two. Or is it just. Ahhhh. peace! I’m alive. Man, i wish i could tell you you’re “free” or near triumph — but i don’t know, but THIS IS the real stuff. And it’s not always dressed up like suffering. The real relapses are dressed up like wee lambs … Thank you!!! melis

  3. Last night, as I went to bed, I hoped that I could wake up this morning and not think about anything related to alcohol. I lasted 45 minutes. While trimming my nails, I remembered how I would frantically inspect my fingernails for signs of cirrosis and jaundice during anxiety attacks while hungover.

    First I was drinking.
    Then I was thinking about drinking.
    Now I’m thinking about thinking about drinking.
    Isn’t it a waste of brain power?

    I’d say no. The truth is, working on recovery can be “fun.” Is it any less a waste of time than surfing the net, playing a game or watching TV? No. Does it have a purpose? Yes.
    Given how drinking is ingrained in our culture, it is impossible not to be exposed to alcohol without moving to a remote place and completely removing ourselves from the grid. Working on recovery keeps me from doing physical and emotional harm to myself. I have to harden against the constant onslaught of pressure from: advertisements; pseudo-scientific studies funded by the alcohol industry saying that drinking (even heavily) is good, published in otherwise useful magazines that have to take money from the booze industry to stay in business; well-intentioned people who want to bond by sharing a few drinks, and my urges during moments of weakness. A day spent working on “recovery issues” is better than spending one minute drunk.

    Can I go overboard with thoughts of alcohol, recovery, and all that? Yes. And that usually means that I am not doing something right. I’m either too bored or too stressed. I wish to be a happy, recovered person, someone who is challenged by interesting tasks to the peak of his abilities, and who makes the best of the time he has left alive. If I find myself dwelling about my past, then it means that I need to rebalance and do something else like exercise or work. In fact, I think I should get back to work now.

    I am very flattered that you thought my comment was worthy of a post. And, as always, thank you for running this blog. It’s a wonderful outlet and I’m so pleased with your progress.

    • ITSB!

      Wow, thanks for the insights. It’s always a pleasure to see you’ve commented because you always seem to have something cool to say. (No pressure, lol.)

      Keep up the good works, man. And thanks for the props; my progress is a reflection on the people around me!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  4. Great post ITSB and congrats. To not think about alcohol is something many of us strive for. I have been there and back. I wish there was some way to stay there, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

  5. Yep

    like Mel said ‘wee little lambs…”

    I was exhausted being with 80000 teen geeks at a robotics scrimmage and I kept downing the caffeine thinking “I KNOW there is a better way to make it through this day… what is it?”

    Turns out the demons were thinking of cocaine. Yep. There it was again: so innocent and so simple and SO right! One bump would have transformed my day…
    into the road to hell…

    man! demons demons everywhere even at a robot-a-thon

    geesh. Once an addict always an addict. at least now I have some balance

    “turn it over, turn it over”

    and I did..

    thanks AL

    XO Jen

    love the video

please leave a comment!

