Great-Full

Show Some Gratitude

i always forget all the magic that hides inside the program.

For the past couple of weeks, i’ve been feeling a little on edge and those dreaded symptoms of poor poor me have been washing over me. Fortunately, i’ve been with the program long enough to know that these are symptoms and the cure is to turn up the frequency on my meetings.

So last week i went to a meeting i haven’t hit for months. They read from Living Sober and the chapter the speaker “happened” to chose from that night was about self-pity. Because, you see, there are no accidents in my program. Coincidence just means my Higher Power has been busy working in my life.

The lesson i needed to learn, the reason i attended that meeting, was to understand that when i begin to feel sorry for myself, i have to remember all that is right in my life. All that i’m taking for granted.

i will add to my Gratitude List every day, being sure to include things i am grateful for that i would not have had if i was still drinking.

Suddenly i realize i’m more blessed than i have ever been.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. We’ve really got a lot to be grateful for! We just don’t reallize that sometimes.

  2. Yes, and what’s the prize for the “liking” this post second 🙂

    Sobriety, and long life … a day at a time. Yes! Thanks Al … very good solution to a really common problem in all us strugglin’ humanoids. I’m keeping a list too, and adding to it. It’s getting long and better and better!

    • i like the idea that it can be challenging to think specifically of something i have thanks to sobriety. The fact i have to think long about it means i have to spend time taking into account all there is to be grateful for, and there’s quite a bit!

      Keep coming back, Melis!

      Al K Hall

  3. Yes Sir!

    I DO Like This Post.

    Gratitude. I am tired, cranky, mean, and thought briefly today, “I KNOW there is something that will wake me up and make me feel BETTER. Now what the Hell is it???”

    It was cocaine. oh mama. I am grateful that it took SO long to remember and MORE grateful that is is OFF the table. (not as in, “Mel did all the blow now it is OFF THE TABLE” )

    Grateful it just is not an option anymore. Was I feeling over run and weepy and wrecked? Yes. Did I have a pity party? Yes

    Did I break my sobriety?

    NO

    Thank you Al for posting this.

    I LOVE the photo and WILL be gathering my posse to post some of these suckers!

    XO Jen

  4. Gratitude = good, for sure. This is a cool twist on the gratitude list: “things i am grateful for that i would not have had if i was still drinking”. It’s kind of like a “what if” but with a positive orientation! I know I often go with “what ifs” that are negative, but to turn that upside down and think in terms of the opposite, well that is cool.

    So just curious, what’s one thing you are grateful for that you would not have had if you were still drinking?

    • Every day it’s something different. Yesterday it was the way i was proactive about our problems with the neighbor/leak/insurance. If i’d still been using, it would’ve been something to hide from and the bottle was always big enough for that. As it was, i confronted the issue and got enough resolved that i could relax with the wisdom that i’d the courage to change the things i could and the serenity to accept those things i could change for the moment.

  5. It is really weird how easily it is to focus on all the bad stuff in life. And how hard it is to maintain focus on all the good stuff that surrounds us.

    It is so wonderful to read that you feel more blessed then ever, all the best to you Al K!

  1. Pingback: It’s always something… « now what?

please leave a comment!

