10 Ways for an Agnostic to Find God

It's a Miracle!

One of the main tenets of recovery is that the addict is not able to control their own drinking (or gambling, or binging/purging, or drugging, or sex addiction…), otherwise they would control it and there would be no addiction problem. Because we addicts are not able to control this aspect of our lives, we have to give control of that area to someone / thing who can; this entity is often referred to as a Higher Power, or a “power greater than ourselves”.

But what about those people who cannot find their Higher Power?

What follows are my suggestions for those who are struggling with the concept of a Higher Power.

10 Ways for an Agnostic to Find God

  1. Stop looking
  2. Listen to the silence
  3. Create something from nothing
  4. Write a mental list of at least 3 people you love, and why you love them
  5. Do a totally anonymous act of kindness
  6. Decide what you want most, then think about it until your heart hurts
  7. Hold hands with someone (two people works best, one on each side)
  8. Talk to someone with less experience than you
  9. Apologize out loud to someone you love
  10. Do something that makes you deliciously happy

When you have done all of these ten things, put a face on how you feel (note: it doesn’t have to be a person’s face).

The next time you need God, think of that face.

When you can’t see that face anymore, go back to step 1.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on April 7, 2012, in AA Step Work, Alcoholics Anonymous, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Happy Easter. I want to say that I love God and believe, but at times I’ve also had my doubts (and that enough will send me to Hell so I’ve been told). So many times I’ve begged him to release me from this addiction and so many time I feel like I was told “not today, but keep this up and you WILL die.”. That sounds so unGodlike. Even now, I feel the pull but am only a couple.of weeks in so I keep telling myself He finally said yes. Good post as always.

    • That’s the third step of AA…begging God to relieve you of the addiction. You’re making progress and you didn’t even know it! Hang in there, babe, and don’t hesitate to send me a personal email if you need to. If you like, i can email you my phone number if you think that would help.

      Just keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  2. thank you. Is this your own recipe? I mean your own words? Your wings are showing Dude!

    • Dudette!

      Yep, my own humble contribution, though i’m flattered you asked! i’m just doing what i can with what i’ve got and thankful for the sobriety that lets me do it.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. LOVE IT! And i’m sorry to be late to the post. I’ve copied and pasted my chores. I think i’m on my way. Can’t stop seeing Harper: The wart-faced dog … HP! Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder, and i’ve been bitten and smitten by a shepherd chocolate lab: Hard.

    I can hold a dog’s paw and a human, yea? Same deal? MEL

  4. It’s amazing what some people can achieve by believing in God, right … a woman stands ;-).

    YOUR pics are so … perfection.

  5. Thanks for sharing this so very inspirational post!

    I don’t believe in God… well, at least not the traditional view of God. Though, in this sobriety I have realized that I actually have had a connection to a higher power, I always did. I just didn’t define it as a higher power, I hadn’t even really thought about it in such a way.

    I see it as us human beings are spiritual beings having a human experience and that higher power exists within and all around us. Unselfishness, love and kindness are such states that brings us closer to All-That-Is.

    What finally got me to see this connection that I had, as a link between me and everything, was the thought that I could surrender ALL to my higher power. EVERYTHING! I could just let it go and at last I could breathe, take it easy and relax. At last I wasn’t in pain or suffering, no longer was I unloved or alone.

    Having faith, is such a relief, and the insight of letting go – it is a bliss 🙂

    Take care, Al K!

    • Hi River!

      i don’t believe in the “traditional” God either, which is why i worte this post.

      One of the fears i had about going to AA was the whole God / Higher Power thing and i thought the program wouldn’t work for me because i didn’t have that faith.

      Fortunately, here in Yeamen, “God” isn’t as big a deal as he might be in the States. My sponsor told me that i should consider the Meetings my Higher Power and this worked perfectly for me as my definition of a Higher Power is very close to yours. God is inside me and inside you and all of these pieces of God form God. By going to meetings, i combine my individual part of God with someone else’s and that creates a power greater than just the two combined!

      Thanks for your thoughts, River!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • Same here in Sweden, it’s almost unusual with God-believers. In my own opinion most Swedes are atheist or similar, which made the concept of AA hard to accept or understand.

        Take care my friend!

        • Hard to accept, but it seems like it’s caught on. Here in “Yeaman” we have about 3 English meetings per day (and it’s not an English-speaking country). What about in Sweden?

          Keep coming back, River!

          Al K Hall

      • There are AA meetings here in Stockholm in various languages such as Finnish, English and German. Perhaps there are more options, I’m not sure 🙂

  6. Dear Al,

    Wow! THIS is some Mighty Ass Wisdom! I am going to pass this on and on and on.

    Thank you for sharing as always. Man! You are GOOD!

    Peace, Jen

    My best to the Mrs. !!

    • Hi Jen!

      Actually, i think this may be my favorite post of mine so far on this blog, so i appreciate your picking up on that and being willing to pass it on!

      Keep coming back, m’dear,

      Al K Hall

  7. This is such a nice “how to” post, Al. I can understand why it is one of your favorite posts so far. When we talked about this one, I was trying to remember the poem that I had posted near the coffeemaker a couple of years ago, and tonight I found it (crap Internet cxn notwithstanding).

    In honor of Poetry Month, and a poem that represents a lot of how I view my spirituality, I present, “Karma Repair Kit: Items 1-4” by Richard Brautigan (a man whose alcoholism killed him too soon).

    source: http://www.brautigan.net/machines.html

    1. Get enough food to eat,
    and eat it.

    2. Find a place to sleep where it is quiet,
    and sleep there.

    3. Reduce intellectual activity and emotional noise
    until you arrive at the silence of yourself,
    and listen to it.

    4.

    ———

    Yeah, I like me some Brautigan. 🙂

    • inthesameboatla

      I don’t buy into the whole God/HP thing at all. I needed help with a drinking problem, just as I might visit a doctor for help with a broken arm, or an accountant with a tax question. And I was able to find that kind of help in SMART.

      I saw this today, and I found it helpful.

      http://blog.kenperlin.com/?p=8116

      • Boat!

        i love you, brother! You crack me up. i talk about giving up my inability to control my drinking to a Higher Power and you say

        I needed help with a drinking problem, just as I might visit a doctor for help with a broken arm, or an accountant with a tax question.

        Don’t you see we’re talking about the same thing? lol

        The best way to stay sober is the one that works!

        Keep coming back, man,

        Al K Hall

    • Is Jen around? She’d be all over this poetry thing!

      Thanks for the props and for digging up the Brautigan. Your high school English teachers would be proud!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  1. Pingback: AA Isn’t Religious « Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

please leave a comment!

