Coincidence is God’s Secret Language

God, the Irony

The first AA meeting i ever chaired went well but…

one of the responsibilities of the secretary is to choose the speaker for the meeting. The first guy i asked claimed he’d spoken the day before, but the second guy i asked was really gung-ho about the chance. Maybe too much…

Remember how i was all about how to get in touch with your Higher Power even if you’re an agnostic, and how people in Yeaman are less into the Christian God than many AA groups in the States, and especially how the best way for me to avoid panic attacks and stay sober is to give things up to my Higher Power? Well, my God has one hell of a sense of humor.

The speaker i chose turned out to be a pastor. Coincidence after all my recent posts? Coincidence is the secret language God uses to talk to you. In his share, my guy confessed to being a preacher and started talking about how God saved him from alcoholism, blissfully unaware of the scepticism Yeamen feel about this kind of proselytizing. i was in shock.

Until i understood that this was a pop quiz. Sure, i was good at talking about giving things up, but could i really do it? Could i practice what i preached? Could i give God the stress i felt over choosing a speaker who chose to speak about God? Seems like God is not without a certain sense of irony.

i sat back and relaxed as the preacher rambled on. After he was through, many people shared that they appreciated his point of view, while others expressed their own religious views (one of our regulars is a staunch Buddhist), but i didn’t take it personally.

It wasn’t my problem—it was God’s. Literally, this time.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yes, the irony! God actually showed up to your Meeting and gave a speech. Am i in trouble for saying that? Is Buddha gonna skype me?

    Harper’s still wagging his tail. I’m cool with God. XO mel

  2. Coincidence is the secret language God.uses to talk to you. Very insightful. And oh the irony. I got chills reading that. Thanks for the post…it was worth the wait.

  3. inthesameboatla

    At my current workplace, the “culture” is “drinking friendly.” The fridges are well-stocked with free beer and wine, and if you look in the freezer, there is harder stuff to be found. Company events usually are company sponsored happy hours. And people expect you to attend them the same way the fundamentalist Christians I grew up with in the midwest expected everyone to attend church. I don’t think they realize the people who casually say “he doesn’t drink. He must be an alcoholic” or drunkenly mutter “Never trust a man who doesn’t drink” are exhibiting the same intolerance as a Christian who labels non-Christians “heretics” or “sinners.” So it doesn’t surprise me that people who drank to a methylated God and ran into trouble suddenly transfer their faith to a Higher Power. Alcohol is just another religion. I see that now.

    • inthesameboatla

      On the other hand… the SMART meetings I attended were in Santa Monica. And, coincidentally enough, Santa Monica is the patron saint for alcoholics in the Catholic religion.

    • Hi Boat!

      Thanks, as always, for your insights. i’m afraid we’re going to have to agree to disagree on the Higher Power thing, though. Otherwise we risk running into a situation like zealots who believe that their way is the one and only true way and that any other way is for heretics. i’ve said it before and i’ll say it again, the best way to sobriety is the way that works. May everyone in difficulty find their way some day.

      Keep coming back, brother!

      Al K Hall

  4. “Coincidence is the secret language God uses to talk to you” – Synchronicity! (meaningful coincidences), gotta love those! 🙂

    Oh, you listed many good questions and I’m contemplating similar questions right now. For instance on Tuesday we (at the AA meeting) read from the Daily Reflections about Love and fear as opposites. And I shared that when I thought about it, then yes – I might not be afraid when I love. But when I thought further… then no, I AM afraid when I love. Afraid to loose whatever it is that I love. THAT I must learn to let go. Because I WILL loose stuff, situations or people that I love – I cannot walk around with such fear, it is beyond my power to hold on to whatever it is that I love.

    Phew… that I need to work on.Acceptance really is something that needs to be thought about eeeevery day, always and forever 🙂

  5. Hehe I like your blog. Its funny because AA gave me something that seems so contradictory… the ability to break away from god. It gave me a real hp after these 5 years- science and the universe. The typical uneducated viewpoint I think see this as a misunderstanding of AAs tenants- but in fact I see quite the opposite. This has been quite a ride. I will put your blog on my paper.li page and if you get a chance check out my blog- agnosticrecovery.com
    Peace ODAT

    • Hi Astra!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing! It’s true this is a touchy subject and i’m really glad i live in a country that doesn’t focus on the “God” aspect of recovery as much as it does the fellowship.

      Personally, when i use the term “God”, i’m referring to a combination of all the god parts in each person. i’m definitely not into the old man with a white beard God, though i would never begrudge anyone this god if they chose.

      It’s like i said to a good friend who comments here regularly: The best recovery is the one that works.

      Regarding AA for agnostics, did you see this post of mine from a few days ago? 10 Ways for an Agnostic to Find God. (Again, “God” means “Higher Power” in this context and not the white bearded dude in the sky.)

      Very cool blog you have, btw!

      Thanks for the visit and Keep Coming Back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

