Serial Killers Have Reasons, Too

But I Had My Reasons

When is a reason not a reason? When it’s an excuse.

i am not totally insane. When i am angry, i have a reason to be angry. When i am sad, it’s because i have a reason to be. Then again, when i went on a binge, i always had a reason to as well.

i would wager that most if not all mass murders, rapists and serial killers have a reason to explain away their actions. i know for a fact that Hitler, Pol Pot and Ben Laden had reasons to justify their atrocities.

Reasons, however, are not “get out of jail free” cards. Having a reason, obviously, doesn’t make you right or mean you are doing the right thing.

The next time you find you have a reason to drink, to yell, to pout, to scream, to run away and hide, substitute “excuse” for the word “reason” and see if that makes any sense.

Sometimes, doing the right thing means ignoring the reasons to do the opposite.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I watched an episode of Criminal Minds last night, and it was about a young woman helping the BAU crew, as her father was a convicted notorious serial killer and she had knowledge of value for the investigators in another serial killer case. And at one point she asked Prentiss if the serial killers ever have a reason and Prentiss replies “Never a good one” (or something like that).

    Eh… this was only what popped up in my head after reading your blogpost hahaa But yes, there’s probably reasons to anyting and everything, question is if there’s any valid justification behind them.

    I treasure this that you wrote:
    “Sometimes, doing the right thing means ignoring the reasons to do the opposite.” When the going gets tough, this is what I then need to remember. I told Maud the other day that once I’m in a relapse process, there has up until now never been anything to be able to change my mind – I had been going straight for the bottle. People tried to stand in my way, my good sense tried to stop me but whatever “valid” excuse (reason) that I had conjured had been nailed to my alkie brain. So I told her that I truly wish that I now remain so aware that if I even take ONE step on the road of relapse, then I wish that the first that I do is to call her, call the Rehab Center and start taking the Antabus again.

    Anyways, thank you so much for sharing – I hope you’re enjoying a lovely Saturday!

    • Hi Rver!

      You cracked me up with your Criminal Minds story!

      i’m glad you picked up on that one sentence, it was the theme of the post! It sounds like you have a great safety net. The fact that you are worried about the relapse is a good sign as well. Keep up the good works!

      Keep coming back,

      AL K Hall

  2. Dear Al,

    Wow! You are one Wise Man. I am actually in a anger frenzy this moment spurred by a tri-fold presentation board, double sided sticky as hell tape, a science fair and last minute printing, copying and of course sticky tape struggles and a teenager freaking out. Reasons? no. Excuses.

    I can only control what I can control: everyone knows double sticky tape has a mind of its own. So does a teenager. I can’t control s**t.

    Except me and my response to said s**t or tape as it were.

    Thank you for the reality check and I gotta say: nice colors in that Tat. It has to be a new one. Yours?

    XO Jen

    • Hi Jen!

      Thanks for the encouragement. i’m so glad you were able to get something out of the post! i’m much better about analyzing my issues—dealing with them in real life is more difficult! You, m’lady, are on the right track.

      As for the tat, it was another one of those photos i found online. i change my mind so often about what i like and don’t like that i wouldn’t trust myself with a tattoo!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • Al,

        I am amazed at how much clarity you have. THank you for sharing all of it…

        Tats: I go back and forth. I want one. AND a good friend once said, “Jen, they are SO permanent and you are so changing.” Hmmm. There you go. You and me both.

        ( I DO want to go on a tattoo road trip with Mel. Maybe we can just get our jean jackets embroidered….Can you have an embroidery road trip? wow. That sounds so OLD)

        Peace, My best to the Mrs…

        Jen

please leave a comment!

