Pain is Inevitable…

Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional.

Shared by someone in the rooms tonight.

With wisdom like that abounding, is it any wonder i love going to meetings?

The Room

Home, Sweat Home

Speaking of meetings, my good friend Riversurfer posted a picture of her AA room over at her Rockdweller’s Blog, which motivated me to take the above shot of my AA room here on Tuesday nights. My coffee service is taking shape on the tiny red table in the background.

Oh yeah, those of you who may have thought i made a typo in the caption to the above photo have probably never been to an AA meeting!

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. By the shape of the chairs, i like the meeting already. Close group. Intimate … honest. Praise HP! Arf!

    Honey, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the message. Pain is inevitable, suffering optional. Man, i don’t know how i’ve turned that corner, but i am slowly tiptoeing around it now. I’ve been in that place where i deliberately “go there”, no LIVE THERE.

    Today I do everything i can to name that shit, tell someone, get it outta me, and move on. I value my sobriety from substances too much to tempt fate by sinking into pain hell. Been there, done that … and what’s the point? Too old, but still too good to let the rest of my guts get torn to shreds. Oh, but still apparently a little dramatic 🙂 What else???

  2. It’s a very homey meeting for sure!

    i’m so glad you’re turning the corner on your trauma! That’s our Mel: inspirational!

  3. Wise quote…words to recover by.

  4. Marvellous, I love your photo – it’s brilliant! And you sure have a very cosy room for your meetings. Thank you for sharing dear Al K!

    • Thank you!

      i’m going to miss the rooms for a couple of weeks because last Tuesday and next Tuesday are national holidays here in Yeaman, so i’ll have to get my meeting mojo from other rooms! Thanks for the visit and the comment, dear River!

      Keep Coming Back,

      Al K Hall

  5. I couldn’t agree more wholeheartedly! Thanks for the picture. I love AA!

  1. Pingback: …on the Inevitability of Pain | Todd's Perspective

please leave a comment!

