See Your Thoughts

See Your Thoughts

I See What I Mean

Remember that one post a while back where it took me pages of babbling to explain the difference between taking a step back from my thoughts rather than acting on impulse? The other day in the rooms, a speaker said all of that but shorter and better.

AA has taught me how to see my thoughts rather than believe them.

Yeah, what she said. Totally.

As a bonus accompaniment to this post here’s a picture i took of a church here in Yeaman i went to a meeting in last Saturday.

Saint Elizabeth's

Saint Elizabeth’s

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. jumpingpolarbear

    Totally :). Not a bad place to go to a meeting!

  2. Were the thoughts in a bubble, like in a cartoon? Sorry, i couldn’t resist! BUT, that is a cool and succinct way of saying, hey look you think this, but you’re probably blowing something out of proportion. STOP. Don’t jerk yer knee 😉

    Anyway, love the church pic, and I love the book … well i saw the interview with Elton yesterday morning on one of the news channels.

    • Lol! Thanks for the smile. Yes, i really appreciated the simplicity of the message. And isn’t that church pretty? Thanks for stopping by, Mel!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. Sometimes I don’t want to see my thoughts. I don’t want to think at all.

    I’m under enormous stress right now. My project went south at work. I felt like I was getting set up to be the fall guy. So I went to find another job and was given an offer. I went back to my boss and told him that, but he didn’t give me the promotion I asked for. So I quit. Then they took me seriously and tried to offer me a way out of it but they didn’t give me an immediate promotion. So I have to decide to try to re-negotiate or walk away. And in the mean time I was given another job offer. And all I want to fucking do is take a vacation. And if I can’t have a vacation, I just don’t want to think. I know what I would have done in this situation before: drink myself silly. But I’m not doing that now.

    What I do is go for a run. And if thoughts of work creep into my brain, I run faster until all the blood drains from my head and I see red. It’s the closest approximation to drinking myself into a stupor that I can do. And you know what? After a few 90 second bursts of that, followed by rest, it’s all gone and my serenity is back.

    • ITSB!

      It’s been a while, brother, and it’s nice hearing from you again. i was sorry to hear about all the stress, though. i totally understand about the vacation, which is why i’m psyched to be leaving in about 10 days for the unreachable wilderness. As for your situation, sounds like your problem is that everybody wants you to work for them, and there are worse things!

      You’re right, though, the first right thing to do is not to drink. The next right thing is to release the stress and it sounds as though you’ve found a great way to do that so keep up the good work!

      And keep coming back, man,

      Al K Hall

  4. working on it

    That church is breathtaking. If I ever make it to Yeaman, I’m so visiting.

please leave a comment!

