Unfinished Sins of Me

i know i probably come off here as someone who thinks he has it all figured out. i may seem like someone who believes he’s achieved perfection, but it’s not because i like to share what i’ve learned that i think i know it all. As i say on my About page, i don’t have the answers, but i know the people who do.

Part of recovery is what i’ve heard called “being right sized”, which means avoiding thoughts like “i’m useless garbage” or, at the other extreme, “i’m the King of the World and his Son, too.”

In an effort to remain balanced, i’ll share some of the areas i recognize i need to work on, for no other reason than to remind myself and my readers that i’m a work in progress.

Areas i’m Still Improving
Intimacy
Patience
Sex
Anger
Isolating

i’ll keep you “posted”.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Al, I just want to thank you for your unbridled honesty and willingness to bare it all to us here. As an Al-Anon mom, I often find it frustrating (and scary) being unable to know what my often uncommunicative alcoholic is experiencing in his own roller coaster through sobriety, and your writing always help give me insight.

    • You’re so welcome, Luddy!

      i wish your alcoholic all the best on their recovery. It’s a difficult process and i pray their road gets easier with each passing day.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  2. Can I just giggle at this comment a little? 😀

    “I often find it frustrating (and scary) being unable to know what my often uncommunicative alcoholic is experiencing in his own roller coaster through sobriety, and your writing always help give me insight.”

    Me, too, Luddy’s Lens, me, too. LOL. 😉 Except the scary part. I kind of got to the point after reading up and working on co-dependency to let go of the “scary” part. It’s Al’s path. It’s his row to hoe. So I am no longer afraid because I learned to let go (well, that is always a work-in-progress, too, but I realize it is what I need to do). Let go, let god. That whole thing. But yeah, I pretty much have had to tune into this blog to know what’s going on most of the time over the past 19 or so months, haha. What I see has been so encouraging that I let go of fear because of being able to read here. At least the communication is happening somehow and in a way that makes Al feel comfortable.

    Of course, now that is changing because Al and I have had to involuntarily separate, so I **really** have to read to know what is going on!

    To Al — we are all works in progress. Thank you for teaching me so much about this through your own journey of self-discovery and my being able to discover myself more in the process, too.

    The work does not stop until the fat lady sings, for any of us. As long as we are aware and trying to make those incremental steps, it’s all good. I appreciate how much you have been able to work out in this blog and let me in on the process as it goes because of what you write here. I’m grateful that you have been getting better and better about talking about what you are learning, too (like the branch/anchor thing in a prior post — that was a goodie, and I am glad you talked to me about that one).

    As long as the work is happening, it is all good. It is Al good. 🙂

    Love you,
    Your wife

    • Hi M’dear,

      Yeah, recovery is a deeply personal thing. The work needs to be done alone, though people who have walked the path before me are certainly big helps as guides. It’s nice, though, to have people on the sidelines encouraging me along this marathon!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

