Those Are The Days

Used 2012-09-25 Priorities Sober Recovery Alcoholism

Today i

  1. Woke up to change the towels sopping up the plumbing leak in the bathroom, hallway and kitchen
  2. Was carrying my spill-proof coffee cup, two breakfast bars, my satchel and my backpack when i opened the front door to discover it was raining
  3. Had to drop/unload everything to get my umbrella out of my back pack
  4. It stopped raining 5 minutes later
  5. i realized my pants were falling down because i forgot my belt
  6. In the subway i was sweating so profusely because of the humidity that people started building an ark as i toweled myself off with a bandanna
  7. i knocked over my coffee and learned my spill-proof mug isn’t
  8. i mopped up the spill with my sweat rag and commenced sweating harder
  9. i got off the subway in a downpour that stopped the instant i struggled to open my umbrella
  10. i arrived at work to discover my watch had stopped.

Despite all this, i didn’t drink from the bottle of wine on the table at lunch. So yeah, when all is said and done, it was a damn good day.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. That’s a pretty damn bad day. When it rains, it…. well, apparently it leaks all over your bathroom floor, causes you to lose your pants, and spill coffee!

    I’m really sorry that it was so awful. Good on you for surviving that bad day and not drinking. Victory!

    Those problems may not go away, but at least they will not be exacerbated by a relapse and hangover and the deep disappointment of breaking sobriety. In perspective, not such a horrible day after all. You saved yourself! It was a damn good day after all.

    Get some sleep (hopefully you already are at 12:21 am) and have a better day on Wednesday.

    xx
    Mrs Hall

    • Thanks for the comment! i read on Mrs D’s blog the note “You’ll never wake up in the morning wishing you’d drunk more the night before.” Truer words have never been spoken…

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  2. You win!

  3. Sounds like a pisser of a day.

    What can you do about that plumbing? That doesn’t sound like something you need to “accept”; rather it is something that you have the power to “change.”

    Also, drop on the floor and give me 20 pushups.

    Cheers!

    • Hella pisser. The plumbing problem has been ongoing since July 31 and it’s been a real attestation to my ability to work on problems. i’ve been taking detailed notes / logs, taking pictures writing registered letters making phone calls, meeting people, getting blown off by people since then. A plumber came this morning, in fact, said he found the leak and fixed it by tightening a pipe but tonight the stain is still there on the carpet in the entranceway and getting bigger. But i’m hanging in there and doing all the necessary shit in a language that’s not my own to keep on top of the situation. Lol, i’mdoing a lot about the plumbing is what i’m trying to say.

      i dropped on the floor but couldn’t get up again. Maybe i’ll do better next time!

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

      • Major pisser. Keep fighting the power, brother!

        My dad likes to say there are only two things you need to know to be a plumber: 1) Shit doesn’t flow up hill and 2) Payday is friday.

        Is there a of stop-valve you can twist so that it doesn’t leak when you’re not at home or sleeping?

  4. #8 really got me-sorry to be laughing at your frickin’ awful experience! And I agree with above-is it possible to get something done about those leaks?! And wine at the lunch table?! Good on ya.

    • i’m glad you got a smile from the post, that’s what i was going for! As for the plumbing, you’ll see in my reply to his comment that it’s been the #1 thing on my plate for months now. i’m doing all i can, i just wish others around me would do the same. As for the wine, here in Yeaman i have lunch with customers about 2-3 times a week and there’s wine at every restaurant.

      Keep coming back, Dudette!

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

