I’m Giving Up

Letting Go Out Of My Hands Alcoholism Recovery Sobriety

Learning To Let Go

Dear Universe,

i got the message. You can stop now.

Love you,

Al K Hall

PS Let’s do lunch some time.

Here’s my BIG problem. The third time the plumber came he found the leak. He fixed it, left, and… The fourth time the plumber came was the charm.

Two nights ago i found a different leak in a different place from a different source. My Higher Power has a sick sense of humor.

The same two nights ago, the Devil sent her daughter to come upstairs and complain about my son’s practicing guitar at 9:30pm. My plumbing problems are on their way out, so i’ve decided to obsess over the insane woman who lives below me. To make this my BIG problem.

i always have a BIG problem. i used to think it was the problems’ fault, but now i realize it’s my fault. Instinctively, i scan my problems and elect one lucky one to become my BIG problem.

Listening to shares at an AA Meeting last night, everything fell in to place (Thank you, Universe, for guiding me to that meeting). i remembered what i’m forgetting: to let go. To give these problems up to my Higher Power when i have no control over them.

So, i’m giving up. i’m giving up my problems to my Higher Power, giving up the stress, the worry, the obsession to the Universe and i’m going to let the Universe worry about it–or not–if it wants but it doesn’t matter to me because it is not my problem any more. i’ve given them up and given up on them.

Hear that, Universe?

_________________

For those of us in AA: This is all 3rd Step stuff.

Step 3: Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.

The good news for us lucky alcoholics in recovery is that “Our Lives” include “Our Problems”. We get to give away all our concerns until the only worry we have left is how to stop worrying over nothing.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on October 5, 2012, in AA Step Work, Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hi Al. This reminds me of an earlier post in the summer…the universe doesn’t have it out for us..at least I hope not. :). I’m glad that you gave up and I’m glad you told the universe off! L.

    • Hi Working On It!

      Yeah, i think you mean the post where i drew the hand on the branch / anchor? One of the things i’ve noticed in my recovery is that i’m learning tons of tools and now the trick is to remember them all and choose to use the right one when i need it… It’s a process but i’m making baby steps.

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

      • Ya got me thinking bc the anchor one didn’t sound looked it was the one. The post was written on July 21 and titled self pitiful. Really universe, really? Lol.

        • All my points are basically the same anyway, lol! All about learning to let go of bad habits and to retrain my pour brain the right way. Baby steps…

          Keep coming back,

          Al K Hall

  2. This is just what I needed to hear tonight 🙂 its so hard to let go of things we honestly have no control over but necessary in our sobriety. Step 3 is such a hard step for me. Thank you Al

    • Hi Robin!

      What a sweet comment. Step 3 is a very hard thing because the only ting we can do is “Not Do” and i have a hard time sitting back and not doing anything. i’m learning more and more that many of the 12 Steps are based on learning to Let Go and it’s a hard thing to learn how to do. Here’s to our figuring out how to do that!

      Keep coming back!

      Al K Hall

  3. inthesameboatla

    “When you have a problem, life is the same damn thing over and over. When you no longer have a problem, life is one damn thing after another.” — John Weakland

  4. Fucking Brilliant! BOY did this hit the spot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OFFICIALLY GIVING OVER ALL OF IT … except i’m still probably going to cry a little over Harper on Friday, Nov. 23. But still … no more “pick-a-problem” for MEL. NO MORE!!!!!

    She’s BAAAAAAAAACK!

  5. Oh and thanks for this Al. I appreciate you and i am grateful for you … and i am SO pleased that you are getting a great life! Changing the things you can! Brilliant!

  6. This not capitalizing “i” thing: my sponsor does that too. It’s funny. For quite a while, I just thought he was being lazy. I like the idea, but as a former English teacher, I’ve got some deeply entrenched resistance to it. I’ll just wait and see what happens with that I suppose.

    • The “i” thing started when i was in high school because i read somewhere that English is one of the few languages where the personal pronoun “I” is capitalized but not the others. So i took it upon myself to rewrite the English language. Now, it’s kind of an affectation, to be honest, and i have to be careful that i write it out of humility and not a fake sense of humility used only to draw attention to myself. Ah, it’s a thin line!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

