Let It Be

Childish Behavior alcoholic recovery sobriety

Childish Behavior

i wrote a manual to teach foreign Business Types how to make presentations in English. The compliment i hear most about it is that it’s very practical, that the student can easily apply it to their business life. My point is, i hate writing a post like i did a couple days ago where i just say something like “Give up your problems to God” without concrete, practical tips on how to do that.

To remedy that, here are a couple suggestions on how to “Let Go – Let God”.

Toolbox text Al K Hall Anonymous Sobriety Recovery Alcoholism

1. Repeat “I gave that up to God” Until the Thoughts Stop

This is the mental equivalent of plugging your ears and going “nah nah nah nah nah nah” to drown out someone else’s talking. It’s childish, but it works.

This was the first tool i learned when i entered recovery. My sponsor told me that the basic tenet of sobriety is the simple sentence, “I don’t drink no matter what.” Whenever i caught thoughts about drinking creeping into my mind, i learned to squash them with the mantra, “I don’t drink no matter what.”

Now, the instant i find myself lost in my thoughts of fear, insecurity or worry, i tell myself “I gave that up to God.” As soon as a stress resurfaces, “I gave that up to God.” The moment I — “I give that up to God.”

Find a phrase of your own and use it whenever negative thoughts sneak in…it works!

2. Pack Up Your Worries

i started creating my own mental exercises. My latest one is to imagine myself packing all my concerns about the neighbor, plumbing, internet… into tiny (because they’re such little problems) boxes that i then label and  load onto a hot air balloon with “For God” written in huge letters on the side. When the balloon’s basket is full of all my worries, i cut the tether and release the balloon which floats up higher and higher, out of my reach and then out of my sight, until it reaches its creditor (because i give my Higher Power a lot of credit).

Play a part in your sobriety! Be an active non-alcoholic.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on October 7, 2012, in AA Step Work, Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. inthesameboatla

    Interesting. Another trick is to let those crazy thoughts have their time. That is, instead of trying to drown them immediately, tell yourself “I will indulge these thoughts for 10 minutes at the most. Then I’m moving on to something more productive.” Sometimes (albeit rarely), something productive comes out of that kind of thinking. It at least vents the demons.

    • Hi ITSB,

      i see where you’re going and i think the key idea behind what you’re saying here is to stop at 10 minutes, which is also the harder thing for me. My inability to think in moderation is what got me into trouble in the first place. The other problem is that often these thoughts come to me when i’m busy doing something and don’t have the chance to take a time out to time them.

      Still, i have to agree that when one of these problems comes up, i let myself think about it in order to brainstorm some solutions, but again, the problem is drawing the line between thinking about the problem and dwelling on it.

      This is why i like washing dishes and ironing, it gives me a fixed amount of time to think about the situation and then when it’s done, i can move on.

      Thanks for the input, brother, and keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • What is the trigger for these types of thoughts? Do they just pop into your head at random times or can they be ascribed to something else?

        I have a whole set of trigger for “awful thoughts”:

        1) Stuck in traffic on my way to work
        2) Too much caffeine in my bloodstream
        3) Elevators
        4) Too much running/over training
        5) Republicans making their opinions known

        and the mother of all triggers:

        6) Low blood sugar.

        Any of these ring a bell?

  2. and my balloons are made out of enviro biodegradable material, otherwise I’d create a lot of ash when it burnt in the upper stratosphere!

  1. Pingback: Triggers Lead To Shots « Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

please leave a comment!

