Good Enough Isn’t

Spill-proof Proof recovery sobriety

Spill-proof Proof

i live to write, but i’m not a writer, i’m an reviser.

My fiction drafts are very rough. When i reread them,  i sense the parts that don’t work, like that feeling when you think there’s one more step than there is. Somehow, unfortunately, i’m able to tell myself “Good enough” and leave it be.

It is only after i forget about the piece for a week or so that i’m able to recognize the passages that don’t work and change or delete them. i hone the phrasing of the text until it reads exactly the way i feel it. “Good enough” is no longer an option, because “Good Enough” is not good enough.

Recovery is the art of revising myself. Recovery is realizing i am not good enough and recognizing what behaviors need to be changed or eliminated and what thoughts need to be elaborated.

i am a work in progress.

_______________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on November 6, 2012, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Al. I like this a LOT! Absolutely right … and there’s no “shame” in that. I love that you’re embracing humanity. I am doing that too … and i’m OK with that. I strive to be a better person, more thoughtful, helpful … take better care of myself and my family … and when i falter, i fix (it). Not fix. You know.

    I’m glad you’re being good to yourself and truly feeling the “progress”. Perfection is not an option, and not good enough, isn’t good enough either. There IS a big difference. Keep being well! Hello to MRS. Hi, erm Mrs. Al, shall i say?

  2. I write my blog for the most part the same way, only the odd post is written then posted the same night. I wrote the phrase “I am a work in progress, but I have to work in order to progress” back in July, I love it, it says it all about life, never settle always work for improvement, great post.

    • I am a work in progress, but I have to work in order to progress

      I love this! And must admit, i’m a little humbled and kicking myself for not writing it. Thanks for stopping by and for your encouragement.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. jumpingpolarbear

    Finding errors in other people is much easier than looking at yourself. Same thing when it comes to writing!

  4. I think this one piggybacks on the previous post of being “just right sized.”

    It’s true that le mieux est l’ennemi du bien — “perfect is the enemy of good” (Voltaire). Trying to be perfect will get you nowhere because it is “progress *not* perfection”, or to me another way of saying it is “process not perfection.” It’s not the destination, it’s the route taken that makes up the journey. And other Jedi Master-esque wisdom, lol. Yet that is not an excuse for apathy, either. Sometimes “good enough” is the enemy of great.

    But get over too much to one side of that equation and you have paralysis by never being able to be perfect/great; scooch too far to the other, and you have laziness, a kind of “giving up and giving in.” In either case, a person is standing on one side of the see-saw and not balancing on it, not able to have any momentum or perpetual motion because there is a blockage by standing too far on one side or the other.

    Find the “sweet spot” of standing on the middle see-saw and you can find balance. It’s tricky, and not static (like literally trying to balance on one foot — there are often minute corrections and sometimes even falls). But it is the only way to get energy in motion, eh?

    Oh I wish I could take a video of the images in my mind with this and post them to YouTube and then here. 😀 I guess that is what “word pictures” are for, and people with filming experience, lol. Maybe someday we will have the tech to put mental images into projection, just like 3D printers can now create objects like something out of Star Trek. But until then, just picture a dude in the middle of the see saw with feet poised just so that the see-saw can get some movement to generate energy. And energy = possible motion. Oh hey! Like one of those old railway carts in movies and cartoons where the character has to pump the see-saw handle to move forward on the track. There you go. Like that.

    Oh yes, this is just wonderful from waynemali up there: “I am a work in progress, but I have to work in order to progress”. NICE.

    xx
    Celeste

    • P.S. yet another great photo to illustrate the point, lol. OMG, a MacGyvered travel mug, lololol. Too funny & too fitting!

    • Yes, exactly. i’m trying to find out what makes me unhappy subconsciously, bring that to the surface and kill it in the sun like a vampire, lol. It’s all about recognizing what doesn’t work and work on making it feel better. But there is no such thing as perfection so, like you said, it’s about the journey rather than the getting there.

      Thanks for the great comment, babe!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  5. a wonderful work in progress you are indeed dude! and yes, you’re a writer.

  1. Pingback: 80-20 to 50-50 | ByeByeBeer

please leave a comment!

