Emotional Hangover Cure

Used 2012-11-22 Hangover recovery alcoholism sobriety

You know that moment when you laugh because you think the person is making a joke but then you can tell from their expression they were dead serious? That’s exactly what happened to me the first time i heard someone use the expression, “Emotional Hangover”.

After that initial social foot in mental mouth, i dutifully kept my “Next you’ll be telling me about the Le Mans birth of your inner child” asides to myself.

Until i got sober. Then i recognized the shaky weakness in my stomach, the fatigue, sadness and headache after an emotional enema for what it was: a hangover. i’ve probably been having them forever, only they were hiding behind the alcohol hangovers.

Fortunately, the cure seems to be the same…early to bed and lots of sleep.

Hanging (over) in there sobriety recovery alcoholism

Hanging [over] In There

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on November 22, 2012, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The sadness. It’s the sadness that I never recognised fully for what it was, hidden as it was behind the sick guts, headache and guilt. The sadness, which now revealed, is being turned around, instead of being drowned out. Hallelujah.

    • It’s the worst, isn’t it? It’s easier to fight an enemy we can name, though, and knowing what it is makes it easier to defeat! Hallelujah indeed.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  2. I did the same thing when someone used the expression “emotional affair.” Except that I am still laughing at that one…

  3. Oh yes, I get this. Although I never called it such. I’ve also heard the term “food hangover”, which I too laughed at, until I went to a party, did not drink booze, and ate and ate and ate. The next morning, I knew what she meant alright.

    • Ugh, i used to get that when i was drinking because i would binge on Fast Food, usually eating enough for two people. There’s one other thing to add to my Gratitude List!

      Keep coming back, dudette,

      Al K Hall

  4. LOL @ sign up there, “Don’t worry. He’s good.” That just really tickles my funny bone for many reasons. Thanks for posting that one!

    You know, I used to think that hangovers felt so bad because of the alcohol. Then I learned that I could feel just as shitty from staying up too late, not getting enough sleep, and drinking too much coffee to compensate (to piggy back off of your last post as well as the last line of this one). In fact, I did that this week, lol, and am still paying for it.

    I think that the word “emotion” means “e-motion” = energy in motion. Any time we back up/clog that energy through thoughts and actions that cause that energy to be polarized (as in too positive or too negative, not balanced and neutral) there is going to be a backlash.

    Yeah, that is kinda Wayne-Dyer-Deepak-Chopra-Oprah-Hippie-Guru stuff, but scientific research is beginning to bear out what gurus have been saying all along: emotions have tremendous power over us in a physically-manifested way.

    I personally have been learning in my own journey that I need a version of the 12 Steps for my own dysfunctional emotional responses to my experiences and in interaction with others. When I heal and correct those core issues and my responses, things get better. No more e-hangovers. Or not so many.

    I think that having and experiencing emotions allows us to learn and to grow, however. And I think that is all a part of what it means to be really living, and not just the living dead.

    No emotional zombie-ism for me!! 🙂

    “Early to bed and lots of sleep.” Yup. That Rx cures a lot of ills.

    Speaking of, it is 12:35 am as I type this comment, lol, so I should probably hit the sack (I kind of had a nap earlier!).

    xx
    Celeste

    • Hi there,

      The sign cracked me up as well and i thought it was appropriate here as a way of letting readers know i was all right despite my emotional hangover. The last few years have really been eye opening for me as i look at life more holistically then i did in the past (thanks in great part to you, as regards food). Keeping balanced and avoiding situations that wreck me keep me physically fit and mentally alert. Speaking of, it’s 1:06 and i have a lot to do tomorrow!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

