A Dog’s Life

Used 2012-12-03 Beer Hound sobriety alcoholism recovery

Beer Hound

i’m a cat person, so it makes sense i have a cat’s life. i’m not very demonstrative, can be aloof, like to be on my own and am not a big fan of going outside. But i need to have a dog’s life.

Sunday was a super sunny in Yeaman, but i didn’t need to go outside so i didn’t. That night, as i lay myself down with my weekly Sunday blues, i understood that, like a dog, i need to go outside at least once a day.

In my drinking days i was able to live inside an alcohol bubble, cut off from the universe. Isolating, however, is dangerous for me because, when i withdraw from the world, i forget i’m part of it. When i’m not a part of humanity but apart from it, i lose touch with reality and, like a shipwreck survivor lost at sea with nothing on the horizon, i lose all sense of perspective.

i need to walk myself, like a dog, to keep myself grounded.

Sorry in advance if i pee on your shoes or hump your leg.

Used 2012-12-03 A Dog's Life sobriety alcoholism recovery

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on December 5, 2012, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I think this is very true among introspective people (or even just us plain ol’ introverts): it’s easy to isolate and sometimes it even feels more “natural”, but then our brains just spin out of control. I never really look forward to my Al-Anon meetings, I even kind of dread them; I always have to remind myself that I do feel the benefit afterward, that nothing bad or embarrassing has ever happened as a result of going to a meeting, and that it’s for ME (a tough notion for newish Al-Anon-ers).

    No one’s gonna walk us but ourselves. 🙂

    • Beautifully stated! i really appreciate the opinion of an Al-Anoner on this blog, thank you! i often have the same initial hesitation about going to an AA meeting but, it’s true, i’m always glad i went and never leave saying “Wow, that a waste, i wish i’d stayed home.”

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  2. This is a cute post. It’s a fun image, it’s appropriate, I can totally see the need for it in healing. But I just CANNOT picture you as a dog person, or a dog, EVER, lololol. It’s a great metaphor, though. Cute pic, too.

    I’m not at the dog part of my life just now, ha. I think I relate a little too well to this post on the “I don’t want to go outside” part. I go out when I have to, but other than that, inside is too much of a sanctuary right now.

    Purrrrrrr. Purrrrrrr.

    Maybe I will find my Inner Retriever soon.

    xx
    Celeste

    • No, i can’t imagine becoming a dog person either, but forcing myself to go outside a little on the weekend would be a good thing.

      Enjoy your sanctuary!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. jumpingpolarbear

    That meme is pretty hilarious!

  4. Tee hee. And I relate to going outside. It’s often a struggle for me, but I always pay the price if I don’t. Alcoholism was a great excuse to never have to see the sun… or anyone else.

    • Exactly! “Struggle” is definitely the word. But, like you said, i need to pay attention so i don’t pay the price. No more excuses!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  5. Oh so funny, I realized the other night that I hadn’t been outside the entire day. I got out of bed in my pajamas and stood out on the porch looking at the moon just to say I’d been out.

    I run on the treadmill some days, but forget to take myself outside for my daily walk.

    And here I thought I was the only one. Huh. 🙂

    • We in recovery have a lot more in common than we know! One of the things i love about AA (and what can be found in other recovery groups) is taht when i share, i share with people who “get” it.

      Keep coming back, my friend!

      Al K Hall

  6. I have nominated you for the “Blog Of The Year” award *hugs*

    http://riversurfer.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/

  7. I agree with Luddy’s Lens, I think that this is a classic introvert’s bête noire. I have problems getting outside on the weekends when my kids are with their dad. I can’t feel right about my day while I’m in it if I’m not being productive in some way, so it’s not like I’m lying around doing nothing, but I do end up regretting not getting out later. I have also seen that when I let myself hide inside, it’s even harder to get out the next day. I think I have to keep up a tolerance to the outside world by walking myself regularly or else I start to feel paranoid about who and what might be out there.

    • Hi Kitten!

      i know exactly what you’re talking about. Since i’ve started advancing in my recovery, i watch less TV and tell myself i can’t go out because i have writing projects and laundry and cleaning…and so i spend all day getting things done, indoors. But even if i spend all day checking things off my to-do list, i regret not going outside at the end of the day.

      For you it’s tolerance, for me it’s grounding but we both agree it’s a necessary evil!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  8. nice metaphor. but really, outside chasing a ball or fetching a stick for hours on end? smarter than that, you’d be the cat on the fence, outside still, but looking at that dog thinking wtf?

    • Yep, i know exactly what you’re talking about! But i think i need to dumb myself down and chase my balls (!?) from time to time so i can shut off my mind.

      Keep coming back!

      Al K Hall

  9. I’ve always identified more as a cat person because they’re low maintenance and I was always a path-of-least-resistance person. Lately I’ve thought about getting a dog, and part of the appeal is taking it for walks. I get out as much as possible for walks/runs and it does my mood good. It feels especially important in winter.

    • i agree, it’s especially important in the winter. Maybe it’s a fresh air thing? Cocooning has its place in the cold of winter, but it’s so easy to become snow blind and lose perspective if we don’t brave the cold.

      Thanks for the visit and keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

