Wake Up!

Wake Up (al k hall anonymous sobriety recovery alcoholism)

Wake Up!

There was a time i would wake up in the morning and the first thing i would do was put my feet on the floor, my elbows on my knees and my head in my hands while i let the sadness wash over me, drown me, pull me deeper.

i would start off my day on the wrong side of the bed, no matter what side it was i woke up on.

Today, i realized i don’t do that anymore. This sadness that was my “default” position is so far in my past that i’ve forgotten about it. Mind you, i don’t jump out of bed with a song in my heart—i’m not insane—but i get off on the right foot and keep putting one foot in front of the other.

One of the many great things about being sober? The darkness fades so much, i sometimes forget how lost i was.

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I dunno why, I just love posts like this. Well done, Al.

  2. Yup. I can remember a whole slew of “default” things in my drinking career. Self-pity was one of those things. I couldn’t get enough self-pity as much as I couldn’t get enough booze. Match made in heaven…like a chaser for my vodka.

    You nailed it…loved it.

  3. That brief, fleeting moment when I’d wake up and be okay for like, one second. Then it would all come crashing back into my mind. Now that calm moment is starting to stretch on and on…

    • Holy shit! That’s exactly it. What a great and concise way to describe my mornings for years. If that was the only thing sobriety brought me, it would be enough.

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

  4. I remember waking up at 5am still drunk, going to the fridge to pick up a couple bottles of beer. Drinking them, going back to sleep, waking up at 11am, drinking a few more. Then getting up, eating, and starting the whole thing over. God, what a waste.

    • Intense! My cousin was like that. He told me about being out drinking one night (when he was in the Marines) and they were knocking back pitchers. He had to throw up, so he leaned underneath the table, puked and then came back up for more.

      Man, when i woke up while drinking, the last thing i wanted to hear about was another drink!

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  5. great Live version of Marley as well! Thanks.

please leave a comment!

