Walmart Wisdom

Used 2013-02-14 01 Bridge (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety alcoholism)

Here’s one of the things i hate a lot.

When i was in the States last year for Christmas, i was doing some shopping in a midwest version of Walmart when i came across one of my favorite aisles: Plartitude (platitude + art, or Inspirational Art).

The shelves are lined with photographs of puppies playing with kittens and sunsets breaking through storm clouds and muscled men holding babies in black and white. My favorite part of this section is reading the motivational messages because they are so Pollyanna that they never fail to elicit a derisive laugh from me and i’m all about the laughter.

Used 2013-02-14 02 glasses (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety alcoholism)

Imagine my chagrin when, in the midst of my mockery, i read something that resonated with me. It was the opposite of farting during a violin concerto, it was like accidentally tooting Sousa in a farting contest and admiring the tone.

The gist was something along the lines of, “As you’ll never feel you got everything done, enjoy what you’re doing while you’re doing it.”

i tried to laugh that one off at first, like i’d done with the others, but of course i couldn’t because it made so much sense.

Used 2013-02-14 03 road (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety alcoholism)

Before my recovery, i was very good about writing to-do lists and then beating myself up when i didn’t to-do anything on them. Recently, my sobriety has given me more energy so i’m able to get more done but the problem is now i beat myself up for not doing enough.

Used 2013-02-14 04 lamp (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety alcoholism)

That stupid motivational sentence reminded me that the reason i wanted to do those things in the first place was because i enjoy doing them. If i start pressuring myself about having fun then it’s not fun anymore, is it?

i need to accept it’s in my nature to feel I haven’t accomplished enough. i need to concentrate more on the pleasure of doing than the discomfort of not doing.

Be careful of what you mock, it may be your next lesson.

Used 2013-02-14 05 Joss Whedon Quote (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety alcoholism)

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hah Polyanna!! Didn’t think anyone else had that movie readily available in their conscious mind……… Cool!

  2. Why’s that such a surprise? Have you ever been close to the end of a romantic relationship and then hear a song in the supermarket about a breakup and it stings your soul?

    About 90% of these “platitudes” listed here can be used to describe some aspect of my recovery:

    http://writerzim.com/2012/10/13/a-list-of-platitudes/

    Hell, I’ve probably written a few of them in these comments.

  3. Be careful of what you mock, it may be your next lesson.

    Ain’t that usually the way of it, though!

    Whatever works. Another platitude, but hey, it is true when it comes to sticking to your guns about being sober or any other goal in life.

    I like the Joss Whedon one, lol. Thanks for that.
    xx
    Celeste

  4. I’m a list / task master too. I would take time to craft a lovely list and then stress all day trying to make it happen. I lived for that penstroke knocking off the items on the list. But of course I would be stressed about it. I am the kind of guy who would put “relax” on the list and then worry about relaxing properly. Good alcoholic that way.

    Great post – loved the posters!

    Paul

    • Thanks Paul,

      Sunday (today) is the worst day of the week for me regarding this and i’m having a rough time with it. But at least i know the beast i’m fighting and so i’ll be able to defend against it better each time until i’m strong enough to go on the offensive and kick its ass.

      Thanks for comment, and keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

