Best Event of the Day

Used 2013-02-23 Support Network (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety) BAMF dad

Support Network

When i was 18 i started a journal, but the problem was i went into so much detail that i was writing more than i lived. So i decided that to save time i would only write down three sentences at the end of the day: 1) My best event of that day, 2) my worst event of that day, 3) something that i learned that day. i’ve been doing this for over thirty years, and do it with my children as well, stopping only momentarily with my son after he reached his 18th birthday until he asked me to continue a few weeks after.

i went to an AA meeting yesterday and saw my sponsor there. After the meeting we were in the hallway talking about some Step 8 & 9 stuff and when we were through he asked me for a hug. He told me that sponsorship was a two-way street and that working with me helped his sobriety because he saw how much i’m getting out of mine. He said that i inspired him.

It’s like the above picture…who is helping whom?

Guess what i wrote down as my best event of the day last night…

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I have tried to keep a journal in numerous occasions. I failed to keep it up because of my power to over analyze what I wrote. Your method is a great way to keep it up and “Keep It Simple”….adding to my spiritual toolbox once again! Thanks!

  2. Wonderful!

    It is a two-way street, isn’t it!?

    xx
    Celeste

  3. I have to say that I got a little teary eyed over this – with your sponsor, and the idea of who is helping who…what a powerful message. I know that I need my sponsees as much as they may need me, even more. It is working with them that I not only get to approach the steps in a different light, but I get reminded why I am doing what I am doing. And when I am not in a good place, it’s talking to them that gets me out of it…without them knowing.

    Love this ….thank you.

    • Glad i was able to pull on the old heart strings a little. There’s a symbiosis that exists in AA that i find miraculous.

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  4. That is so lovely. What a great sponsor. How great that the AA programme is so wonderful for you. Excellent stuff Mr. Hall xxxx

  5. Hi Al. What a great post. I’m not with the program but the circle of help is inspiring. Giving and receiving it makes this crazy world a little less crazy. The video was hilarious. I wish I was there to say “like!”… But I’m not, so I will just press the button….k. L.

    • Jaded!

      Good to see you, my friend. One of the things i get most out of AA is the fact that i’m with other people who are like me. It’s like justification, vindication and support all at the same time. It’s so good not to feel so alone anymore.

      So keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  6. wow. I love the journaling you do, and that you do it with your children. I’m inspired to try this with my kids. And you dude, are as inspiring as that father in that triathlon!

    • Dudette!

      Glad you got something from the post and appreciate the idea but as far as being triathlon dad…well, let’s just say i have progress to make when it comes to appreciating my parenting skills.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  7. Best event of this day: finding that I forgot to read this post. Worst event of the day: realizing I could have been doing this exercise for days now. What I learned: this fabulous exercise, I am absolutely passing it on to my kids!!

please leave a comment!

