Walk Away (Another Blast from the Pabst)

Blast from the Pabst alcoholic recovery sobriety AlKHallAnonymous

Blast from the Pabst

i’m a walker. During my drinking life, when in the middle of a binge, i would often simply stand up, step away from the table, leave the room and walk off looking for adventure. If it wasn’t my night, i would find it.

One night i went to a party at a friend’s house and over stayed my welcome so much that he insisted i spend the night in his guest room. At about 2am he put me down for the night and went to join his wife in the bedroom down the hall. Then i got the urge to walk.

i snuck out of their apartment and walked the dark streets of their neighborhood until i reached a larger and infamous suburb west of Yeaman City. This was not the kind of place you walk after dark, and especially not at 2am when you’re drunk.

A group of young people was hanging out in a deserted public square and, me being me, i approached them and tried to drunkenly befriend them using my bad Yeaman accent. After blabbering with them a few minutes, one of the gang pulled me aside and whispered it would probably be a wise decision on my part to cut the conversation short and call it a night.

So i did.

i got about three minutes away when i did my inventory. Keys – check, sunglasses – check, pen & notebook – check wallet … my wallet was missing. i’d nearly gotten away free and clear but some time during our exchange one of the group had liberated my billfold.

Not just angry but drunk angry, i stormed back to group and started telling them off for being so badly raised that they would take advantage of another person that way. So they did the normal thing and kicked my ass.

i was knocked down, kicked, punched and my neck was scratched when someone tore off my gold chain. The flurry of blows lasted only a matter of moments before another loitering group came over and shooed my attackers away.

Weight to go (AlKHall Anonymous Recovery Sobriety)

Weight to go

As i left the scene, i was humbled and sad and a little lost. Especially when i touched the back pocket of my jeans. My wallet was there– i’d had it the whole time. It had never been stolen and was, ironically, the only thing that remained of my excursion.

Hello, my name is Al and i’m an alcoholc.

__________________________________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on March 1, 2013, in Alcoholism, Blast From The Pabst, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh mate. Good on you for outing the tragic memories. Once again I am so bloody delighted beyond belief that you have gotten yourself sober. Yay for you!! xxxx

  2. Honestly, you have to write a book with that title…it’s awesome. Love these blast from the Pabsts…not because they are drunkalogs or anything – they are deeper than that. You always give a groovy insight into the way we think and act in your stories. Tragi-comic I would call them, but there is always something more to them.

    Thanks again – love it.

    Paul

    • Hi Paul!

      Thanks for “getting” it. i’m not trying to show off or beat myself up with these stories; i’m trying to show what kind of insane thinking i had and how unmanageable my life was with the hope that others will identify and learn a lesson or two so thay don’t have to make the same painful mistakes that i did.

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  3. Thank you for sharing.

  4. I’m also a non-practicing alcoholic! It’s good to meet you….

  5. Miss Anne Thrope

    As an old friend, I’m glad there was very little of this sort of thing I would hear at the time. God knows we all worried enough. So glad you survived your drinking and lived to tell these sort of stories!

  6. Hi Kitten!

    Yes, i can imagine it’s not easy being close to someone who is as self destructive as i was. Thanks for hanging in there and waiting me out!

    Keep coming back,

    Al K Hall

please leave a comment!

