Don’t Even Think About It

I'm of Two Minds (AlKHall Anonymous sobriety recovery)

I’m of Two Minds

What do you do when The Voices tell you to give in and up? The answer is insultingly simple.

Think of something else.

i heard in the rooms that our brains are capable of only having one thought at a time. If that thought is one you don’t want, to change your mind you only need to change your thought.

Those of us in Alcoholics Anonymous like to use the Serenity Prayer for this, and we have no exclusivity on it by any means. You could try the Buddhist “Om” or even the lyrics to your favorite song (Bob Marley works well). Mentally repeat this mantra for a couple of minutes and soon your train of thought will be sidetracked and back on the right track.

Serenity Prayer (AlKHall Anonymous recovery sobriety)

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on July 4, 2013, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery, Toolbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I wonder?

    For personal benefit, or done for someone who may actually be able to read it???

    What a very considerate partner. For the record i am sober, not mature.

  2. Hi Al! I just wrote a post and realized that this is actually my greatest sober tool! Changing my thought instead of dwelling on the voice, which is just telling me lies anyways! Refocusing on something takes some practice, the serenity prayer definitely is very useful in this! – Maggie

  3. Yeah, what Maggie says… just push the thoughts away, don’t indulge them, don’t pick them like a scab, but really, one thought at a time? I suppose that’s right although it often feels like there’s many more than that. Nice to hear from you my friend xxx

  4. This is a fantastic post to carry with me through each and every day, but the image of the tramp stamp is not… it is early morning for me, but I feel strongly I will be having nightmares tonight!

  5. Some fool has this tattooed on her fat behind and it’s wrong!!! OMG, that’s the funniest thing I’ve seen since … oh, I don’t know when! It’s wrong, wrong, wrong!!

please leave a comment!

