Who is this freak?

Used 2013-07-14 Happy, Joyous & Freaky (AlKHall Sobriety Recovery alcoholism)

Happy, Joyous & Freaky

i met this guy a couple years ago, soon after i got sober. He seemed nice enough, but i secretly mocked his positive outlook when he wasn’t around. See, i have a hard time believing in happy optimists because i suspect they’re either lying to themselves or me.

Anyway, i started seeing more of him. At first it was just in the rooms, then i’d happen bump into him at random places (in the street, for example) and soon we were spending a lot more time together. He kind of grew on me, so i learned to forgive him his outlook on life even if i still found it Pollyanna-ish, naïve, and just plain silly.

After that, though, i started seeing him all the time. Like he’d show up where i work, and even in my apartment! Imagine my shock the first time i woke up and found him in my bed with me!

Because…

…that happy, joyous and freaky guy i used to make fun of is me. And now that buoyant boy aspect of me is moving in and taking over. Slowly, surely, and thankfully.

_______________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on July 13, 2013, in Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I really kind of like the sound of this guy, I believe I am familiar with him and glad he is around so much more.

    • And he is glad when you buy him breakfast. Or pizza. Or breakfast and then, after a little bit, pizza for lunch. See you toward the end of August, brother?

      Keep coming back, Mangy,

      Al K Hall

  2. fuck i am the same guy! he’s in my bed too 🙂 here i am, happy and cheerful and fucking positive. what happened? 🙂

  3. Soo cool! I love that part of self emerging! Shoot in early sobriety I couldn’t even tell you what my favorite color was! Sheesh! Great post 🙂

    • hat a great way to put it! It’s true that i feel that part of myself is a part i drank to keep down and now that he’s free to come out, he’s setting me free. Sobriety is my favorite color!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      PS No, blue. AAAAAAUUUUGGGGHHHHHHHHH!
      PPS [Apologies for the obscure reference.]

  4. I am with Sober Life there – I had no opinion on anything because I was a shell of a self that had never emerged. I too used to mock and/or resent those who were happy, joyous and free. Jealous and envious. I also didn’t understand them. I didn’t like those go-getter types…not the cut of my jib. But like you, I started to see myself in these guys a bit, then I started to resent them less. Then I actually didn’t mind hanging with them, listening to them, learning. It’s fantastic how we gradually change…that’s one of the miracles of recovery.

    I am glad that the buoyant boy is continuing to take over. We’re all the better for it 🙂

    Paul

please leave a comment!

