Soberversary: The First NOT Drinking Game

Used 2013-07-24 Mind Games (AlKHall Anonymous sobriety recovery)

A Non Not Drinking Game

The other day in a meeting, someone shared how his last drink was the night of November the 10th, so his  soberversary fell on Armistice Day. He talked about how symbolic he found that, and i thought it was pretty damn symbolic as well.

Which got me thinking.

Drinkers play tons of games (and not all of them mental, lol), but it’s not because we non drinkers can’t have any booze that we can’t have any fun. So, i’ve created a Not Drinking Game called Soberversary.

The rules are simple, all you need to do is go to Wikipedia and search the date (without the year) you last had a drink. Look over the list of Events and find one you think sufficiently symbolizes the last day of your drinking life, and share it here!

i’ll start. i quit drinking on January 11, 2011. When i enter January 11 in Wikipedia, i get the following list (that i shortened here a bit because the original was longer and more boring).

Events

1055 – Theodora is crowned Empress of the Byzantine Empire.

1569 – First recorded lottery in England.

1693 – Mount Etna erupts in Sicily, Italy. A powerful earthquake destroys parts of Sicily and Malta.

1759 – In Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the first American life insurance company is incorporated.

1787 – William Herschel discovers Titania and Oberon, two moons of Uranus.

1805 – The Michigan Territory is created.

1861 – Alabama secedes from the United States.

1863 – American Civil War: CSS Alabama encounters and sinks the USS Hatteras off Galveston Lighthouse in Texas.

1908 – Grand Canyon National Monument is created.

1922 – First use of insulin to treat diabetes in a human patient.

1927 – Louis B. Mayer, head of film studio Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), announces the creation of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, at a banquet in Los Angeles, California.

1935 – Amelia Earhart becomes the first person to fly solo from Hawaii to California.

1943 – World War II: The United States and United Kingdom give up territorial rights in China.

1949 – The first “networked” television broadcasts take place as KDKA-TV in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania goes on the air connecting the east coast and mid-west programming.

1949 – First recorded case of snowfall in Los Angeles, California.

1960 – Henry Lee Lucas, once listed as America’s most prolific serial killer, commits his first known murder.

1962 – Cold War: While tied to its pier in Polyarny, the Soviet submarine B-37 is destroyed when fire breaks out in its torpedo compartment.

1964 – Surgeon General of the United States Dr. Luther Terry, M.D., publishes the landmark report Smoking and Health: Report of the Advisory Committee to the Surgeon General of the United States saying that smoking may be hazardous to health, sparking national and worldwide anti-smoking efforts.

1972 – East Pakistan renames itself Bangladesh.

1973 – Major League Baseball owners vote in approval of the American League adopting the designated hitter position.

1986 – The Gateway Bridge, Brisbane in Queensland, Australia is officially opened.

1996 – Space Shuttle program: STS-72 launches from the Kennedy Space Center marking the start of the 74th Space Shuttle mission and the 10th flight of Endeavour.

2003 – Illinois Governor George Ryan commutes the death sentences of 167 prisoners on Illinois’ death row based on the Jon Burge scandal.

2013 – One French soldier and 17 militants are killed in a failed attempt to free a French hostage in Bulo Marer, Somalia.

My Event

From these events, i choose January 11, 1949.

1949 – First recorded case of snowfall in Los Angeles, California.

Symbolism

i find this date symbolic because i’d always said i would quit drinking when hell froze over…and i was right!

Your turn! Please share your event and its symbolism in the comments….

_______________________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on July 24, 2013, in Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Ooh fun! LOL at yours.

    Mine is June 21, which is the summer solstice or “the day of the year with the most hours of daylight in the northern hemisphere”. Each soberversary has reminded me just how much more light I let into my life.

  2. I love games!
    My Date: June 24, 2013
    My Event: 1314 – First War of Scottish Independence: the Battle of Bannockburn concludes with a decisive victory by Scottish forces led by Robert the Bruce, though England did not recognize Scottish independence until 1328 with the signing of the Treaty of Edinburgh-Northampton.

    Symbolism: My favorite ancestors were Scottish. On June 24, I declared independence from the tyranny of alcohol. Hopefully, it won’t take England 14 years to recognize said independence. 🙂 Mind if I reblog this?

  3. Mine is global wind day June 15th should have waited a week. The solstice sounds nice. Not many fitting things happened but as a cyclist I hate wind so global wind day it is

    • Zerendipity!

      i like the idea Global Wind Day being your day. It’s always better to have wind behind you than in your face, right?

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

  4. Reblogged this on Maya June's Sobering Adventure and commented:
    Play this right now! Also, follow this cat, he is way cool. 🙂
    I love games!
    My Date: June 24, 2013
    My Event: 1314 – First War of Scottish Independence: the Battle of Bannockburn concludes with a decisive victory by Scottish forces led by Robert the Bruce, though England did not recognize Scottish independence until 1328 with the signing of the Treaty of Edinburgh-Northampton.

    Symbolism: My favorite ancestors were Scottish. On June 24, I declared independence from the tyranny of alcohol. Hopefully, it won’t take England 14 years to recognize said independence.

  5. My date is April 15 – in the US it is known as the Tax Day! But I never knew that on April 15, 1912, the British luxury liner Titanic sank in the North Atlantic off Newfoundland – OMG!

    I don’t know what the symbolism is… I was probably about to sink myself! LOL!

    This was fun, thanks AL! – Maggie

    • Hi Maggie!

      Nice to have you along for the ride! i see your point, alcohol is taxing and you stopped going under! Let’s say your ship has come in!

      Thanks for being here and keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  6. July 2nd – 1st solo flight of a hot air balloon around the world – Steve Fossett, also 1st implant of the AbioCor articial heart. Symbolism – I have anew heart and I am soaring around the world in my sobriety.

  7. 1610 – Galileo Galilei makes his first observation of the four Galilean moons: Ganymede, Callisto, Io and Europa, although he is not able distinguish the last two until the following day.

    Symbolism: My recovery is all about discovery new things about myself and expanding my world.

    I hope that makes sense.

    Sherry

    • It makes a lot of sense, Sherry! Sobriety is definitely a new universe for me and has expanded my horizons infinitely.

      Thanks for the comment, and keep coming back!

      Al K Hall

  8. 1904 – The United States begins construction of the Panama Canal.

    This was charting a new path for me. A meeting of the two oceans for me is like the meeting of my spirit with the Creator. A complete circuit now of unbroken seas, unmarred by the blockage of self.

    Love this, Al. Best. Game. Ever.

  9. Hahaa fun fun! And how brilliant your event symbolically represents your last day of drinking.

    My last day of drinking was on December 11, 2011 and here’s my event:

    “2001 – China joins the World Trade Organization.”

    And on the very same day I drank my last drop of alcohol and have been sober ever since :))

    • China joined WTO and I joined sobriety, that is 🙂

    • Riversurfer!

      How nice to see you back again! Glad to see you’re still sober and still awesome!

      Thanks for playing along. i was talking with sober friends and it’s truly a wonderful feeling to belong to a community of sober people. Most of the people i come in contact with are sincere and, if not always deep, at least not superficial. Glad you joined sobriety, my friend!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  10. Reblogged this on Rockdweller's Blog and commented:
    My last day of drinking was on December 11, 2011 and here’s my vent:
    “2001 – China joins the World Trade Organization.”
    And on the very same day I drank my last drop of alcohol and have been sober ever since 🙂

  11. 1867 – The British North America Act of 1867 takes effect as the Constitution of Canada, creating the Canadian Confederation and the federal dominion of Canada; Sir John A. Macdonald is sworn in as the first Prime Minister of Canada.

    This is the date Canada day is observed, so i get fireworks.

    I seriously considered Blink 182 Day (International), however I am neither young, nor cool enough to pull it off.

    Debbie Harry and Princess Diana were both born on this day as well, so I am claiming them both as I figure I have covered both ends of the spectrum.

    I would have thought you would have chosen the Mi. territory or else picked Uranus. (thanks and try the veal)

    • Ron!

      Canada Day! Very cool and i see what you so deserve fireworks.

      You are definitely young and way cool enough for Blink 182 Day.

      As far as Mi territory, could have worked for Cold Turkey, i guess and as for Uranus, i pick it all the time.

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  12. September 30, 1972 – Roberto Clemente records the 3,000th and final hit of his career.

    September 30, 2012, gfnj records his 3,000th and final night of passing out early and waking up at 3:30am sweating all over the bed. Wondering what he said and what he did, and how the night actually ended for those that he should have spent his time more wisely with. Then falling back asleep for a few minutes until the alarm clock rings at 5:00am.

  13. I know I am late to this party, but…

    27th January, 1973 : The Vietnam war formally ended when ministers from the United States, North and South Vietnam and the Viet Cong signed an agreement in Paris.

    I believe the symbolism of ending the war is self-evident.

    Fantastic game, Al! I couldn’t wait until I had time to sit down and play it!

please leave a comment!

