Hoor-AA

Used 2013-08-04 Stairway to Heaven (AlKHall Anonymous sobriety recovery)

Stairway to Heaven

i met with my sponsor yesterday and, after discussing steps 11 & 12 a little, he informed me i have officially completed the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous.
It was a special moment. He told me how much he enjoyed working with a sponsee who gave himself so completely to the program and i told him how much i enjoyed working with a sponsor who channeled my Higher Power.
We’ll still meet to go over maintenance details, but from now on, you’ll read the save kind of crap here, but written by a guy who has completed the 12 Steps. The first time.

Drunk_Guy_Falling_Down_Stairs_x264

[btw, i’m on vacation for the next few weeks, so apologies fit not getting back to you on comments or checking out your blogs (i have Internet access only one hour a day – and only on my phone!]

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on August 10, 2013, in AA Step Work, Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I am very happy for you, it has been an amazing turnaround for you and you should be proud of your progress. It has been an amazing turnaround for you and i have been happy to see it.

    It is amazing how the worst addicts, those who throw themselves so deeply into their addiction, are so often the people who throw themselves so deeply into their recovery.

    • Thanks Ron,

      Your comment is especially meaningful as it comes from the first person i knew who sobered up. Watching you not only stay sober, but doing it with such grace removed a lot of the apprehension i could have had when i decided to enter recovery. Thanks for being such a good friend and kick ass mother fucker.

      Keep coming back, mang,

      Al K Hall

  2. That’s awesome, Al! And we keep working them in our lives – that’s the beauty of it! Steps 10 11 and 12, the growth steps, keeps my spirit and connection with my HP going and bolsters my sobriety. Working with others is the one that does it the most. I am looking forward to hearing when you are sponsoring someone…you will be a fantastic sponsor, Al. We pass this along, as you know, and you will see your program just flourish once you start working with others – your understanding of the steps will grow too.

    Have a wonderful vacation – we’ll miss ya!

    Paul

    P.S where did you get that video of me? I thought that I had a publication ban of that :p

    • Hi Paul,

      ‘Preciate the kind words. You can be sure when i get a sponsee, i’ll be sure to post about it here, but for the moment i’m pretty sure they can smell the fear on me. Probably all for the best, ’cause at the moment i’d be too afraid of screwing up someones sobriety, which is the most precious thing they can have!

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  3. You know how there’s a “Freshly Pressed” icon? Well, maybe we should create one for “Officially Completed the 12 Steps.” Or, we could make up t-shirts: I Completed the 12 Steps and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt. I could keep going with the silliness, but you’re on vacation, and don’t have time to read it, so I will say: Well Done! I’m with Paul, can’t wait to see some posts on how quickly sponsees flock to you!

    • Thanks for the smile, Miracle! Though maybe the shirt should say, “I completed the 12 Step and all i got was better”!

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

  4. Hey, yeyeee! Congrats! Yes we need a button ^^^!! Congrats and have an awesome vaca! -Maggie

  5. Woot!!! Congratulations!

  6. Hey wow Mr Hall.. that really is something to be proud of. I know what a huge amount of work goes into those steps and to think that not only have you done them but you did them with a huge amount of commitment… kudos to you. Lovely. xxxx

    • Thanks for the kind words and the support, Mrs D! i gotta admit that i’m getting out of it alli put into it, so that commitment is really paying off and feels great!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  7. Okay AL. I know I’m the last one that should be commenting here but that first picture gets me. Thanks.

  8. Congratulations on this huge accomplishment! Woohoo!

  9. Congratulations, Al. Hope you’re having a great vacation!

  10. Congratulations!! Well done you really have been doing, and ARE doing, a terrific job!

  11. Hey how are ya? Been a while…

please leave a comment!

