The Not Yets

Used 2013-09-04 Know Your Limits (AlKHall Anonymous Sobriety Recovery)

Know Your Limits

Fellow alcoholics, let’s take a test.

Part 1

Read the following list and place a check mark beside each true statement, as it relates to your drinking.

_____ “I haven’t blacked out.”

_____ “I haven’t lost a job.”

_____ “I haven’t caused an accident.”

_____ “I haven’t I haven’t been to rehab.”

_____ “I haven’t been arrested.”

_____ “I haven’t killed anyone.”

_____ “I haven’t killed myself.”

Part 2

If you’re a still-practicing alcoholic, go back to to each sentence you ticked and add “Yet” at the end.

______________________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Alcoholism, Lessons in Recovery, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Bang on, brother. Bang on.

    Ask me 4-5 years ago about that list, and I would have scoffed at it. Today I can say that the first five things happened, number 6 was miracle it didn’t happen and number 7 was close to coming true.

    The YET’s…powerful.

    Thanks for this, Al.

    Paul

    • Thanks Paul!

      Scary how quickly things can devolve, isn’t it? Hopefully there are some newcomers out there who will show a little more intelligence than i did when i thought “Nah, could never happen to me!”

      Keep coming back, brother,

      Al K Hall

  2. Great post…I also never thought those things would happen to me. Like Paul, I have only missed 6 & 7. If I kept drinking, they would likely follow.

    Powerful message my friend.

  3. I have 7 months today, but have been struggling for the past month; forgetting to remember how I “earned my seat.” Stumbling upon this list was exactly what I needed to reaffirm that I don’t need to go back out for the rest of the not yet’s. Thank you for this.

    Faith

    • Hi Faith,

      “Forgetting to remember” is a great way to put it. Sometimes life is so much better, we forget to remember how bad it was before. That’s why i like to keep a Gratitude list that i update daily with a gift i’ve received in sobriety. That way, if i get to cocky, all i have to do is go back and see what i have now that i didn’t have before.

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

      • Hey Al,
        Love this “update daily with a gift i’ve received in sobriety.” I’ve been in the habit of writing gratitude lists but I think it’s become more habitual than meaningful. I should view my reasons for gratitudes as gifts, especially in contrast to what I did not have before; happiness, stability, trust. Thank you!

  4. avoided the last two totally – although near the end I wanted to do the last one but didn’t have the courage, now I’m glad I was a coward – the others I got a reasonably high grade average

    • Hey brother,

      Thanks for the comment and the visit. i’m not sure ‘courage’ is the word i’d use, lol! i tried to kill myself during a binge and ended up in ICU for three days, literally between life and death, and i can assure you there was nothing heroic about the devastation that event wreaked on my family and friends. i’m just glad you were able to get out before you got that stupid!

      Keep coming back, Furtheron,

      Al K Hall

  5. I was going to say, almost exactly, what Paul just said. YET (You’re Eligible Too) is a tool I employ quite often, because as recently as 2 years ago, most of those things were on the “I Never” list, and now only the last two are. I really hope someone new reads this post, and the comments, and learns more quickly than I did.

    Great job, Al!

    • Hi Miracle,

      You’re Eligible Too! Lol, that’s one i haven’t heard here in Yeaman. And i’m with you, i’m here with all you gentle readers as a cautionary tale, hoping to convince at least one person that it’s not worth continuing to see how bad things will get, when you cab turn your life around for the better today!

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

  6. Nice. I got out before most of those hit me… thank goodness. no more alcohol for me ever ever ever ever ever. there is nothing it could give me that I need. Nothing xxxx

  7. Thanks for this post! At the beginning of my treatment, we were asked a series of questions… One was “have you ever been treated by YOUR physician because of your drinking or drugging?”. My response was no, for I didn’t have a family doctor. At the end of my treatment – we reviewed these questions and I was baffled by the justifications that my alcoholic brain and all of the “games” that it has played throughout the course of my addiction and now my recovery. Keep sharing!

    • Hi Illy!

      When i first got sober i thought that Step 2 [Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity] talked about insanity as a euphemism. The longer i’m sober, the easier it is for me to see how literally insane i really was. How great it is that you’re on this side of happiness with us!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  8. Boy was I lucky. Got out of the game just before the yets turned into the present.

please leave a comment!

