Celebriety: Craig Ferguson

Craig Ferguson made this stunning announcement in 2007.

Someone else i didn’t know was in recovery. Did you catch his plug for AA at the end?

About “Celebriety”

i’ve decided to add a new category to this blog dedicated to well known people who are sober. i’m not trying to “out” anyone, and will only be talking about celebrities who are open about their recovery. The purpose is to demonstrate that famous people are sober, too, just like me and you.

____________________________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on September 21, 2013, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Celebriety, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this; I love Craiggyferg — even more after seeing this…

  2. Love Craig!

    This is wild, Al, because it was one year ago today we talked about this idea–it was on last year’s Stephen King “birthday” post. 😀 cool!

    Hope you’re doing well!
    Christy

  3. I never get tired of watching this one. Love the guy. Thanks for sharing this – look forward to seeing more of these celebrieties here! Great idea!

    Paul

  4. Wow… I have never heard of Craig Ferguson before, but now I just love him. And that Scottish dialect, I looove it! What a fantastic speech, I so greatly admire anyone openly talking about difficult matters such as alcoholism. This I need to share, and I think you’ve come up with a brilliant idea to blog about sober famous folks. Can’t wait for the next post 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing, take care!

    • Hi River!

      Isn’t he great? He’s big in the States so i don’t know him all that well either, but the message sure is universal! Thanks for the share!

      Keep coming back, my friend,

      Al K Hall

  5. Reblogged this on Rockdweller's Blog and commented:
    Wow… I have never heard of Craig Ferguson before, but now I just love him. And that Scottish dialect, I looove it! What a fantastic speech, I so greatly admire anyone openly talking about difficult matters such as alcoholism.

  6. My personal favorite YouTube clip. I rewatch it often. His honesty/humor about the disease strikes a familiar chord.

  7. Just GREAT! I had not seen this before. Was like a meeting for me first thing in the morning. Always a good reminder. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Kristin!

      i thought the exact same thing when i saw it: that it was like a lead in an AA meeting. How cool is it that we can press ‘Play’ and feel like we’re in the rooms whenever we want?

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  8. Late in commenting but I just had to add my thanks for posting this! I may have mentioned before, but I can’t help repeating, I get as much help and comfort from reading and listening to recovering alcoholics here as I do in my Al-Anon group. It really aids in my own understanding.

    I really like the celebriety idea, too.

    • Hi Luddy!

      You can’t imagine how happy i am to read that these posts and readers’ comments help those in Al-Anon. In some small way, i feel like i’m writing to family and friends who i caused to suffer through my drinking, and it helps knowing that these words can aid in understanding.

      Keep coming back, my friend!

      Al K Hall

  9. This was very cool. Thanks for sharing.

  10. I ❤ that guy. What a hoot.

  11. Reblogged this on abbiegrrl's recovery blog and commented:
    Recovery Celeb crush? Sure thing!

  1. Pingback: Five Celebrity Addicts Who Are Out and Proud

please leave a comment!

