Celebriety: Bradley Cooper

Used 2013-10-16 Bradley Cooper (AlKHall Celebriety) 0

Last year, news that Bradley Cooper is a recovering alcoholic hit the stands in The Hollywood Reporter and took many people by surprise. It’s not difficult to see why, as the references to his being sober since 2004 are hard to find before the THR interview.

Here’s what i was able to scrape together.

His Causes

I was so concerned what you thought of me, how I was coming across, how I would survive the day. I always felt like an outsider. I just lived in my head.

Used 2013-10-16 Bradley Cooper (AlKHall Celebriety) 02

His Downward Spiral

Part of me believed [my friends’ warnings], and part of me didn’t. But the proof was in the pudding: I’d always gotten up at the crack of dawn, and that was out the window. I remember looking at my life, my apartment, my dogs, and I thought, ‘What’s happening?’

His Bottom

I was at a Christmas party, dancing to Marilyn Manson’s ‘The Beautiful People,’ and thought it’d be a cool idea to show how I’m able to bash my head against the concrete floor. I did it, came up, blood went down my face, I laughed, and did it again. Yeah, I had a couple of drinks in me, for sure.

I deliberately bashed my head on the concrete floor — like, ‘Hey, look how tough I am!’ I spent the night at St. Vincent’s Hospital with a sock of ice, waiting for them to stitch me up.

Used 2013-10-16 Bradley Cooper (AlKHall Celebriety) 03

Bradley Cooper Trashed

His Decision

I realized I wasn’t going to live up to my potential, and that scared the hell out of me. I thought, ‘Wow, I’m actually gonna ruin my life; I’m really gonna ruin it.’

His Present

I haven’t had a drink in five years [a 2009 interview]. And I loved to drink. But then I had to give it up, goddamn it. I mean, unfortunately, those days are over.

I don’t drink or do drugs at all anymore. Being sober helps a great deal.

[This rare exchange is from a pre-2012 interview]

Do you take Advil?

I don’t take anything. Can you believe that?

What happens if you get a headache?

I drink a lot of water.

What about alcohol?

No.

And they cast you in The Hangover?

Uh-huh [laughs]. I didn’t say I’ve never done that, but I don’t do that now. Fortunately, my life is much better without it.

Used 2013-10-16 Bradley Cooper (AlKHall Celebriety) 03

Sources for the quotes:

Thanks to Mrs D who requested a Celebriety about Coop!

Other Celebriety posts

Used 2013-10-16 Bradley Cooper (AlKHall Celebriety) 05

A Single Woman’s Dream (and Bradley Cooper holding it)

 ______________________________________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Alcoholism, Celebriety, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yet again, I had no idea!! Thanks for sharing this brilliant post, love love love it!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. What a dreamboat. Especially love the caption on the last photo. Really enjoying your celebriety posts.

    • Thanks BBB!

      Thanks for encouraging my ever so cursory relationship with humor. 😉 And i’m having a lot of fun writing about Celebrieties, so it’s a win-win-win!

      Keep coming back,

      Al K Hall

  3. I loved this series prior to this post, and now I am IN LOVE with this series! Thanks for the good dreams I will be having tonight!

  4. WHATTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How did I miss this one after I requested it????!!!!! Brilliant! Thank you soooo much my friend. Your celebrity posts are the best. They just make me feel so optimistic and positive about being sober. You rock xxxx

please leave a comment!

