Service Me

Used 2013-11-27 Service with a Smile (AlKHall Anonymous) 20130514_185807dd

Service with a Smile

i’ve been asked to be the feature speaker at the largest English speaking meeting here in Yeaman, which is the kind of big you see in movies set in Queens. i’m looking forward to it in the same way you look forward to having a kidney stone removed if you have to do it yourself.

So why? i don’t have to do it–the person who asked said many people outright refuse because it is a little daunting–but i thought i’d go for it because

  1. i believe in service to Alcoholics Anonymous and don’t feel i have the right to say ‘No’. When i think about all the program has done for me, i need to be looking for more ways to give back.
  2. i’m feeling braver about speaking. i’m still sure my voice will crack and i’ll turn all red, but my sponsor and i have been working on this thing where i share at every meeting i attend for the express purpose of getting over my shyness, and it’s working.
  3. Something i saw on Facebook: Everything you want is on the other side of fear. i need to learn to be brave.
  4. Something i thought of myself: Instead of looking for ways to get out of tasks, i need to be looking for ways to get into them.
  5. Something else i thought of myself: That which doesn’t kill me makes me more sober.

Wish me luck!

______________________

About Al K Hall

Like a battered drinker or a punch drunk boxer, i am here for another round. For those of you who don’t know me, i’m a semi-professional writer on the rocks and a non-practicing alcoholic (if after 30 years of practicing, you still can't do something well, it's best to just give it up). For those of you who do know me, thanks for stopping by anyway and where’s the ten bucks you owe me? Welcome to my Bar None. A hole in the wall where we can hang out and trade the kind of stories you swap only when you’ve had one too many and either can’t find your way home or are afraid to. Hell, it’s cheaper than therapy and plus the pictures are prettier. Here we’ll crack open bottles and jokes and ‘last call’ are the only dirty words you’ll never hear. Pull up a stool and make yourselves at home. http://about.me/AlKHall

Posted on November 27, 2013, in Alcoholics Anonymous, Alcoholism, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Miss Anne Thrope

    As a fellow shy person, I am so in awe of you right now, Al. What a huge step. Especially since I remember you telling me over and over back when you were drinking that alcohol was your social lubricant, helping you get past that innate shyness. For you to take this on really shows how committed you are to finding new ways to cope. I am so impressed, and look forward to hearing how it all goes!

  2. That’s fantastic, Al! It’s funny – I am shy and introverted, but stick me at the podium in front of a ton of drunks, and I have no problems telling on myself. not sure why. It’s one of those mysteries, because outside of that, you’d be hard pressed to engage me in a chat of some kind without some serious work on my side of things.

    You will do wonderful – you have a lot of recovery experience behind you, and your way of communicating and discussing your story is top drawer. Share some of the things you have posted here – you have some great tales.

    Good luck, but you don’t really need it. Pray for the words to come out of you from the Creator. What it was like, what happened, what it’s like today 🙂

    Awesome…can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    Paul

  3. Wow! Amazing way to enhance your sobriety Al… 🙂
    Pretend as if you are speaking to yourself at your first meeting. Talk to that newcomer… You will inspire many, this I am certain of for you inspire so many already in this blogosphere. Thinking of you, xo.

  4. Yeaman = Yeah, man! Have fun!

  5. Good luck, break a leg or whatever people are supposed to say. You’ll be amazing. Once you get past the first 30 seconds or so, you’ll remember to breathe, realize that you aren’t going to die, your ears will return to their rightful shade and you’ll just tell your story.

    You’ll be brilliant.

    Sherry

  6. Good luck I’m sure it won’t be as bad as you think… things rarely are are they if you think back on past fearful experiences you went through.

    One thing I’ll share. Some years back I did a chair at a meeting on the Thursday- I thought it rubbish, a boring drunkalog where I thought I should have said more on recovery, service etc. I walked away somewhat down about it all.

    A year later I’m at another meeting on a Friday night again to do the chair. That one gave out chips. A guy picked up his 1 year chip – I saw him about now and again and said hello but nothing more.

    After the chair he shared how he was really glad I was there as it was my chair the year before that had led to him finally putting the drink down for good (he’d bounced in and out a few times). I was flabbergasted thinking back and realising it was the chair I thought was rubbish. You never know what you say how it affects others.

    Good luck again

  7. Awesome, Al. It shouldn’t be too daunting….it’s your story. Here is what I was told before I would speak-

    Don’t lie
    Don’t curse
    Make eye contact with at least 3 people in different parts of the room.
    Talk slow
    Stay still

    When all of that doesn’t work, just pray beforehand and let God talk through you.

  8. sureasimbreathingnoceiling

    I get the turn red and voice shakes when I speak in large groups of people. I always find it very inspiring to watch and hear other people give speeches who are similar. It’s brave of them and I also take some measurement of comfort because if they can do it, so can I. All of that to say I bet you’ll inspire people in many more ways than one. 🙂

please leave a comment!

